Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2016, 12:53 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Redmond , Washington
Storage options for a new airstream?

We are about to close on a 2016 30’ FC bunky as total newbies to RVing and as such with a lot of questions. High on our list is storage: lack of room and HOA rules prevent us from parking the trailer at home, so we need to find our trailer a home.

We live in the Seattle area (not exactly dry, but relatively mild with occasional sub-freezing streaks). We may end up getting the Airstream in a few weeks, so cold weather is still a possibility.

We have been going back and forth on indoor vs. enclosed vs open, gravel vs. concrete, with/without hookups and all the possible permutations. The dealer suggests going outside, just as all inventory at any dealership. We are a bit nervous about it, so we are mulling over the idea of going indoors for at least the first few months.

The downside is not just cost – we don’t seem to have many indoor options close to where we live, and we don’t particularly like a long commute as we start getting acquainted with our new trailer.

Yet, we need to make a call and we are may be running out of time soon. Would love to hear from others what their experience has been – even more so if they happen to be from similar areas. Thanks much in advance!
g.u. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2016, 01:07 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2010 27' FB Flying Cloud
Fraser Valley , British Columbia
From the outskirts of Vancouver - just as rainy as Seattle.

I would leave the trailer outside as much as possible, especially when it's under warranty. Why? So you can keep track of any leaks.