Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-19-2009, 07:21 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2002 27' Safari
College Station , Texas
Question about installing antifreeze

I'm a total newbie, so please excuse me if this question is really ignorant. My manual and many of the very informative posts in the forum say that you should disconnect the inlet to the water pump and attach a hose that you stick into a bottle of antifreeze. Then, with the faucets open, you turn on the pump, which sends the antifreeze through all the lines. My question is: instead of connecting the pump to the antifreeze bottle, couldn't I accomplish the same result by just pouring the antifreeze into the fresh water tank and then continuing with the other steps? Or is there some reason why this is a bad idea? Thanks for any guidance you can give.
mddsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 07:40 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Hi mddsmith -- hope you're enjoying the forum!

It would pay to have a shop do your winterizing before you pour antifreeze in your fresh water tank. You'll never get it cleaned out next summer! See http://www.airforums.com/forums/769754-post109.html

Every fall we get discussions on winterizing. There's a lot of info to be had if you will browse http://www.airforums.com/forums/f458/

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 07:46 AM   #3
Patriotic

1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
yes, it is a bad idea.

you will need way more antifreeze to do it that way.

you'll never get all of it out of the fresh tank in the spring. even small amounts can make your water taste funny.

If it is "only" in the pipes, it'll flush right out, quickly, and completely.