Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2009, 05:51 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2007 19' Bambi
Portland , Maine
Picking Up from Storage - First Time

Hey Gang!

So in a few weeks I'm headed down to Stateline RV to pick up my baby! This is the first winter I've had her. I have a 19' Bambi CCD that I bought at Out of Doors Mart in NC. She's been in storage since last September so that I could go on deployment. Now that I'm home, and I see the last bits of snow melting, I think it's time to go spring my baby!

Since I'm new to all this, I just paid the good gents at Stateline to Winterize her for me. (PS -- like most Airstream dealers, these guys were GREAT. In particular, they really worked with my schedule, since I was storing the unit so EARLY by Maine standards to make my deployment. Kudos!)

So here's my question -- anything I need to know? Specifically:

-- what should I check to be sure she's "un-winterized"
-- what might have shaken/worn loose/etc during her long winter's nap?

And still more specifically, I did NOT get the chance to wash her really well before she went in storage, so there's still bugs from last summer ALL OVER the front. Any tips on getting her nice and squeaky clean?

Thanks, everybody. Looking forward to a glorious summer bounding around New England. I hope to make a rally really soon...

Hayley
iHayley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 07:02 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Hayley,

First, welcome back, and thanks for what you do.

I would only caution you to check the air pressure in the tires before towing your Airstream, and then when you get it home, just waist some water on those bugs and then I like to use a car wash that has a wax in it already. They clean well and leave a good shine with little work. I like the last part the best.