Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-09-2012, 01:40 PM   #1
GLASS GODDESS

2011 22' Sport
Greenville , South Carolina
Red face Help winterizing

This is my first time winterizing my 2011 Bambi 22 Sport. Can anyone give me step by step tips. I prefer to use the antifreeze technique.
Dureedesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
Even with antifreeze you are better off doing a blow out first. You need to determine if you have bypass on the water heater. If you do, you need to turn it to bypass. Otherwise you need to buy enough antifreeze to fill the tank to allow antifreeze to exit the tank and fill the hot water lines. To blow it out open some faucets and use an adapter to blow air at 45 psi into the water intake. Open some more and get all the water out of the lines. You will need to also drain the fresh water and gray and black tanks. There are some low point drains that you also need to open. After you all the water is gone you need to close those drains and start pumping antifreeze into the system. I usually disconnect the inlet to the water pump and add a short piece of pvc which I can put into the gallon bottles of antifreeze. It usually takes at least a couple gallons including what you put down the traps. Open the faucet closest to the pump and continue till pink. then the next and the next, not forgetting the sprayer for the john and the john valve.
dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:01 PM   #3
GLASS GODDESS

2011 22' Sport
I know there is a by-pass on the hot water heater.