Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-27-2015, 09:40 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Heating question.

I am new to Airstreaming & RVing in general. This post might get a little wordy but I want to give as much info as I can so you folks will be able to give me the best advice, so forgive me. I purchased a 2007 Safari 27FB SE a little less than 2 months ago. My question has to do with heating. I am lucky enough to have the trailer hooked up to 30amp service 24/7, even when it's not being used. For that reason & because my wife & I are taking short weekend trips when ever we can, I have not winterized it. Most of the time I keep the thermostat set on Heat Pump at 50*. I live in North Carolina. Not the coldest place in the world but it does get down in to the 20's at night fairly often. I have read that the heating system will automatically switch from heat pump to furnace at around 40*. So my first question is, is that 40* outside temp or inside. I have asked this question to a Airstream Corporate customer service person. After listening to him read,under his breath, from a manual, he told me that it was inside 40*. So that means having the system set as I do, the furnace will never kick on. This troubles me because I have read that it's the furnace that keeps things under the trailer from freezing. So if the temperature outside is getting to the 20's or sometimes even colder, am I going to have a problem? Now I say I haven't winterized which is true, but I have drained the tanks & lines as best as I could except for the black water tank which I have left about 5 gallons of water in. So to summerize, does the furnace switch at 40* outside temp or inside? If the temp outside gets below freezing & the furnace doesn't turn on will that be a problem? I have had people tell me to keep it on furnace full time. But that, as you know, uses propane which can get costly. The electricity