Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Winterizing, Storage, Carports & Covers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-02-2017, 07:39 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2016 23' Flying Cloud
Fanwood , New Jersey
Air/Anti-freeze why we need both....

Hello,

I was thinking of upcoming winterizing (I've never done it before). I've read somewhere that some people just use compressed air to blow out the lines and don't use anti-freeze.

I didn't think much of it then, but looking at the plumbing line diagram (We have 2016FC23D), I realize there are only some sections of pipes you can remove water from by air.

https://www.airstream.com/wp-content...Parts-Book.pdf

(Page 477 shows what we got)

Also I used to wonder why do we need air if we are putting anti-freeze. But if there are back-flow protection is preventing fluid going backward, there are some sections of pipes that anti-free cannot get to.

So I've come to understand that we need both air and anti-freeze. Am I right?

Air will blow out the city water inlet line where water from the water pump does not get to, so I don't think there is benefit in putting air and open up all the faucets in the trailer. I think all you need to do is to open one faucet so that the air has place to go (otherwise, wouldn't compressed air burst the pipe?) because the rest of the lines are taken care by anti-freeze.

I'm reasonably sure that I'm correct, but I would be interested in hearing from people who have more experience with this matter.

Thanks!

Atsushi
Atsushi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 08:14 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 25' Classic
Full Time , Texas