Old 12-12-2014, 11:20 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2012 20' Flying Cloud
2006 31' Classic
Rincon , Georgia
Advice wanted for winterizing in the South

I live in the Southeast (Coastal Georgia) and plan on using my Airstream several times this winter. Although we get some freezing temps, overall we have mild winters and I really do not want to do a complete winterization every time I park. I do plan on draining tanks and water heater and keeping a space heater inside whenever the forecast calls for freezing temps. Would appreciate opinions and advice from others with similar circumstances. Will this plan be sufficient to prevent freeze damage? I park the trailer outside. I am new to RV'ing/Airstreaming.
Thanks

Old 12-12-2014, 11:40 AM   #2
Rivet Monster

1975 31' Sovereign
1980 31' Excella II
Sprung Leak , North Carolina
I live a bit north of you in the Coastal Plains of NC. At minimum I drain everything down (including the water heater), blow the water lines and add a cup or so of RV anti-freeze to each of the drain traps, making sure some makes it down to the black/gray tank drain valves and the sewer cap. I can hook up and go at a moments notice and be able to hook up when I get to a warmer place with no hassle. Lather, wash, repeat. If the camper is going to have sit all winter with no use I will usually go ahead and pull the water lines full of antifreeze.

Aaron

WBCCI #XXXX AIR #2495
Why are we in this basket...and where are we going
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 09:44 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2015 25' FB International