Old 09-17-2013, 10:32 PM   #1
Always dreaming
1963 26' Overlander
Lake Zurich , Illinois
Suggestions for jacks, please?

Hi! Im a newbie- just took my beautiful '63 Overlander for our first voyage together and had just a few --small-- issues. Gonna deal with them one by one, starting with the leveling jacks. Both on the left side are apparently inoperable. My boyfriend took them off and said he thinks he can remake them if necessary, but recommended replacement instead. He found the parts needed on (Part #: 12951). The other two are working just fine, so here's where I need a little advice. Are leveling jacks a part that would be available used (less$$$$) and worth the time searching for (I couldn't find them on this forum). Or would I do better buying a set of four and classified listing the other two? Just keeping the extra two "in case"? Remaking the faulty jacks? Or just replacing all four since we are messing around underneath anyway? Upgrading the jacks to a different style? ANY help or suggestions are greatly appreciated!!! Thanks!

Everonica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:06 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
1972 Argosy 20
Snoqualmie , Washington
These are not Leveling Jacks, but are really Stabilizing jacks. The difference would be that leveling jacks would raise one side or the other, and front and back, to actually level the trailer. These jacks are not supposed to do that, but are just to be used to stabilize the trailer once you've got it adequately leveled by driving the low side up on an appropriate number of leveling blocks. Both Stabilizing jacks and Leveling blocks can be found at many RV websites as well as Amazon. If you tried to use stabilizing jacks to level the AS, you may have stripped the threads on the screw part, in which case they would need to be replaced. Also, if you attempted to level the AS using the stabilizing jacks, make sure you didn't deform the frame where they are attached.

Pictures always help.