Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-03-2010, 02:40 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2010 28' International
HiGhlands Ranch , Rockies
Importance of leveling

Newbie here. I wanted to get some insight into the benefits of leveling the unit and what the tolerances are. Can you also share where the places to take a level measurement are.

Many thanks!!
Coloradoair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 02:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2003 22' International CCD
Kiln , Mississippi
Your ridge requires the trailer to be close to level for it to function (cool) properly. Tanks need to be sloped towards the drains when you need to empty - they have the proper slope when the trailer is level to allow the waste to exit through the dunp valve. Cooking is nice when the liquids sit well in the pots and pans and don't slop over to one edge. Then there are the less obvious stuff - stress on the trailer frame and axle when out of level for long periods of time with the tanks full and the added people weight - but that is just speculation.

Check level with a magnetic 12 inch carpenters level on the frame exposed at the front - or I use one inside on the floor and check in both directions when I think I am close. the levels are cheap from Walmart or any hardware store.
clancy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 03:04 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon