Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-05-2004, 03:05 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2004 30' Classic
Field and Stream , PA & MT
How do you manually crank a Super Jack

Sooner or later I know I'll have to manually crank the electric jack on my new 30' Classic. I'm not a wizard when it comes to mechanical things, so I better know how to do this before the time comes.

I've read my Owner's Manual which says "Remove the Power Head by loosening the two Allen set screws" The manual includes a diagram of the Jack Assembly, that shows the manual crank handle and where it fits in the Jack Post to do this.

However, nothing on the diagram is referred to as a "Power Head" nor are there any Allen set screws pictured. Plus, I don't see any Allen set screws visable on the outside of the Jack. (See, I told you I'm not a mechanical wizard!)

Is the "Power Head" the same as the "Jack Cover"? And, must I first take off this jack cover (which seems to have phillips head screws securing it) before I get to the Allen set screws?

Why can't those people write a manual for Dummy's like me?

John

Ps. My power jack on my SOB that I just sold certainly wasn't that involved -- simply "push switch up to go up, or down to go down. Insert crank handle in hole right below switch to crank manually."
Old 05-05-2004, 06:57 AM   #2
Aluminut

2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
That's a good question John. I'd be interested in the answer too. I've just kind of taken a leap of faith that it won't die in the meantime.
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2004, 07:19 AM   #3
Still Working

1994 36' Classic 36
North Charleston , South Carolina
process

allen screws are holding the whole head on to the shaft.
DO NOT REMOVE THE WHOLE HEAD!