Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-30-2011, 06:50 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Shokan , New York
Sealing Seams

I am not a restoration expert - not even close. I have had a continuing leak in the rear of my 1973 31' center bath Airstream. It has gotten to the point where I will have to replace plywood. I have read about seam sealing in this forum. What exactly do you mean by that? I don't think it means slathering sealant all over the aluminum joints.

Any comments/suggestions would be appreciated.
jerryc41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 07:03 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryc41 View Post
I am not a restoration expert - not even close. I have had a continuing leak in the rear of my 1973 31' center bath Airstream. It has gotten to the point where I will have to replace plywood. I have read about seam sealing in this forum. What exactly do you mean by that? I don't think it means slathering sealant all over the aluminum joints.

Any comments/suggestions would be appreciated.
Generally, you would use aluminum colored Parrbond to run along all the seams on the exterior of the trailer. Any loose looking rivets should also get covered. If you still have your OEM Armstrong a/c, there is also the seam that holds the assembly to the roof. That, along with all the rivets or screws that hold it on should be sealed. If you have a replacement a/c, you should check and probably replace the gasket for the air conditioner.
Old 04-30-2011, 07:28 AM   #3
x

XXXX , XXXX