Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-28-2006, 04:15 PM   #1
Reg
1 Rivet Member

1975 31' Excella 500
Crowley , Texas
Newbie needs help !!!!!

I just purchased my first Airstream and need lots of advice on needed repairs & where to buy needed parts and supplies etc. I am a lifelong do it myselfer and have a decent collection of tools. I do NOT however have any exp with rivets etc ,so I am a rank beginner needing help starting at that level. ANYONE out there willing to help will be appreciated!! A list of projects I know of at this time . As said I really need advice on what and where to get needed parts , rivets ,tools and any help needed to use them.

I am fortunate in that my trailer came with a Factory Servic Manual, so do have some info available.

I am not at this point trying to get my trailer in " show" condition,just decent useable. I am going to pull it to my place in Colorado and use it to stay in while I build a small house & a Large toy box( shop/garage).

PROJECTS
1 Front wing window has 1 1/2 " of water between inside & outside glass.
Was thinking of pulling window and draining water, then trying to re-seal and install?? How did water get there? Any ideas? Are these units avail,if so where?

2 A few rivets on skin missing or loose.

3 Small amount of water leaking in . Showing at bottom ledges of small port hole non movable windows under the larger moveable windows. Can't see where it is comeing from. Can it be running down inside of skin from loose rivets etc, or is it most likelly leaks at window frames etc.?

Any advice appreciated ,to help me find a starting place
Reg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 06:17 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1973 31' Excella 500
Morristown , Tennessee
I'll give this one a shot to start things off. Congratulations on your choice of coaches. You are hooked on the best.