Old 04-19-2010, 01:16 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Haverhill , Massachusetts
Newbie here losing my mind...

I'm about to replace all the seals on the windows, because they are all dried out, (it leaks in a few places, btw) but after a rainstorm, I opened the windows, and there was no water in the bottom of the window sill(?), so I'm thinking it's coming in from the outside.

So I got up on a ladder, and I noticed that on the top window (the ones that don't open) there seems to be some caulking missing/has holes where the glass part of the window meets the frame of the window. So it's a long explanation to basically ask, can the Vulkem touch the glass part of the window, or do I use something else?

And I have the Vulkem, but have never used it before. So can I open one tube and just use a little, then use it again later, or will it dry out, so I should do as much as I can with the tube while it's open?

And should I clean out as much of the old caulking first, and with what tool?

Thanks in advance.

Brian

Old 04-19-2010, 01:19 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Oh, and how much weight can I put on the top to check/reseal the vents?

Thanks.

Old 04-19-2010, 01:26 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Vulkem will work and remains flexible. Also Silkflex, TemPro or other urethane based caulk has been used but become rigid when cured.

For your second question, I assume you are talking about getting on the roof? I use planks. Others just step on the ribs. The roof is supposed to take quite a lot of weight, but I don't want to find out exactly how much.
Old 04-19-2010, 03:06 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1958 26' Overlander
Mesa , Arizona
Lumantic gave you good advice. I recently did this work on my '72 Sovereign. Check out my blog for details.

WBCCI #5661/AIR #5661/TAC # AZ-6
4CU 1st VP

My '58 Overlander Restoration and Travel Blog:
http://mellomikesairstreams.blogspot.com/