Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-27-2010, 09:32 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Monroe , Louisiana
Vent cover restoration 76 Caravanner

I'm no expert by any means, but I am very fortunate to have a lot of materials and tools at my disposal for rehabing my 76 Caravanner I just acquired. Once I towed it to my shop I discovered that the plastic piece from the front vent was completely busted out.

At this point I'm more concerned with protecting the inside from the the elements so I opted not to buy the 70 dollar domed plastic cover and just replaced it with a piece of plexi glass I had.

My Caravanner apparently had been in quite a hail storm and the aluminum cover had tons of golf ball sized dings all over it. After removing all the broken plastic and old gaskets I tried out my metal working skills. I was quite pleased with how it turned out actually.

After I cut out my piece of plexiglass I blasted both sides in my bead blaster to give it a frost effect and cut the intensity of the sunlight coming through.

The motor in my vent still works but the fan blade has disintegrated except for the hub. With the flat plexiglass instead of the dome, the glass presses a bit on the motor shaft but I plan on replacing the huge motor with a much smaller unit so I will have more than enough room.

That's how I did it. It may not be professional, but it worked.

crowemagnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 09:43 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowemagnon View Post
I'm no expert by any means, but I am very fortunate to have a lot of materials and tools at my disposal for rehabing my 76 Caravanner I just acquired. Once I towed it to my shop I discovered that the plastic piece from the front vent was completely busted out.