Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Windows, Doors, Locks & Vents > Roof Vents, Skylights & Fans
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-26-2009, 07:09 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2015 27' FB International
Prairie du Chien , Wisconsin
Cool Roof Leaks-skylight-2005 Safari

I realize that roof leaks are common repairs, but I am a bit of a newbie. My 2005 Safari has just developed a leak around the skylight, and I would wonder if anyone has reference to a good article on fixing this, with a reference to steps as well as products that work. I know this is a common repair and has probably been commented on previously, but...... Thanks Kurt
KJJorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 07:42 AM   #2

2004 30' Classic Slideout
Fenton , Missouri
Send a message via AIM to jcanavera Send a message via Skype™ to jcanavera
The way my dealer fixes them is to remove the skylight, clean up the old sealer and reinstall. That's how they handled one of mine during warranty. The other when it started leaking was caused by a crack due to over torquing of the fasteners. Unfortunately it was out of warranty and it was replaced on my nickel.

Jack
AIR #56 S/OS#15
'04 Classic 30' S.O.,'03 GMC Savana 2500
jcanavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:02 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 25' Classic
Hydes