Old 09-11-2007, 08:27 PM   #1

Ponte Vedra Beach , Florida
Water in double pane window

My Dad recently gave me his Airstream. I'm new to Airstream but not camping. His is in pristine shape with one or two exceptions. There is water in the front window! Its several inches deep too. He is helping me fix the minor issues but we have no earthly idea on how to begin this repair. I did search most of the threads in an attempt to see if other have this problem but only found on pretty complicated idea on repair. Maybe thats the only option. I am new to the forum and unsure about too many details but it is a 31 foot and 1972 model I think. I will confim all that but wanted to try to jump on this project this weekend. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Old 09-11-2007, 08:33 PM   #2
Well Preserved

1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Welcome to the forums from a fellow aquarium viewer.
Our "aquarium" is the left wing window. There are two (okay, three) methods to address this repair. First one is not for the faint of heart. Break the interior glass out, and seal the leak.
Second is to remove the window assembly, and take it apart, clean it out as much as possible, drain it, and put it back together, then reinstall. Very repair-intensive, and may well result in a broken window.
Third is to find another window sans water, and remove the old one, and install the new one. They are not cheap.
I have chosen a fourth option, which is to leave it alone. Seal the original leak so no more water enters, and place a couple of static cling goldfish on the inside of the window, within the watery area.

Old 09-11-2007, 08:36 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1984 31' Airstream310
New Holland , Ohio