Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Windows, Doors, Locks & Vents > Windows & Screens
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-13-2005, 08:01 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1967 22' Safari
Branford , Connecticut
Question leaking and broken windows

I'm new at this whole thing, so please be patient.... I just aquired a '67 Safari that had been sitting in the woods for at least 12 years for the cost of hauling it out. As far as I can determine it's in pretty good original shape but it does have its share of issues. I have decided that the first thing I need to do before even trying to get it roadworthy is to deal with its leaking issues. The front window has been totally broken and is missing. I have leaking problems with side windows, the ones with the fixed pane with the movable window over it having the worst leakage. I'm not sure where to begin on the front window. Where does one find a new pane of Corning glass? How does it get adhered to the top frame (since these are frameless windows)? I am assuming that I need new gaskets on everything,but it's not obvious how to replace them....Can anyone point me in the right direction or offer suggestions? Thanks!!!! Diane (moogie32)
moogie32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2005, 08:30 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Rural, blink and you'll miss it , Missouri
Hi Diane! Corning glass is the most difficult to replace. Be prepared to use Lexan until you find someone parting out a trailer who is willing to sell the windows.