Old 07-21-2015, 08:38 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
1963 26' Overlander
Dallas , Texas
Butyl tape

I'm sure this has been discussed. But I'm traveling and searching using a phone on this forum is a nightmare.

Why do we use butyl tape on the windows instead of using a sealant? With a marine repair background, I get why on boats. They need to be popped out and resealed from time to time. But on an AS the window frames are riveted in. Not easy to remove and reseal. What are everyone's thoughts/understanding on this subject?

Cardinal283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 08:59 AM   #2
Rivet Master
1975 27' Overlander
Mission , Texas
Never heard of it, but I'm fairly new to this.

I did perform the dreaded wing window replacement on my 75.

There were no signs of leakage. The inside was gooped over with a rubbery never completely dried yellowish white compound, where the window frame and skin met was likely the tape mentioned. Removing the original bucked rivets and window revealed that bucking (beating) rivets can lead to a formerly flat surface having waves.

Re-assembly - after smoothing out the waves, gooped up the skin and window frame with a caulk line of Vulkem's replacement to the point it oozed out of the rivet holes, Olympic rivets, wipe the outside pretty with a paint thinner rag, goop up the inside as found, allow a couple of days set time - then leak test with a hose. No leaks.

My suspicion is that many seam leak problems are related to bucking, no goopy gasketing with a caulk line on both surfaces, and gooping the inside after riveting.

But I've never done a complete rebuild, followed by another complete rebuild 40 years later to see if the change in technique was any benefit or not. :P

Tape is likely used in original assembly as it is easier.

nrgtrakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 02:10 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member
1963 26' Overlander
Dallas , Texas