Old 08-26-2014, 06:24 PM   #1
1968 24' Tradewind
Talkeetna , Alaska
Replacement door handle for 1968 Trade Wind

I am a newbie to this forum & to trailer life in general. My husband and I just purchased a 1968 Trade Wind. We are in the process of getting it road worthy for an epic journey. We are leaving our home in Alaska in search of something new & different. We will be traveling with our 2 young children indefinitely. So far things are coming together quite smoothly... with the exception of our door handle!! There's a mechanism inside the plates that is broken, rendering it inoperable.

Any advice on finding a replacement or a used door handle that could be used for parts? The only ones I've seen online are the flat, flap-style door handles. Ours is a long shaft that turns up or down to open the door (like the ones on airplanes). Would love to keep that same style handle, if possible.

Thanks, in advance, for your advice. Although this is my first post, I have already spent many hours on this site doing research prior to making our Airstream purchase. We are so excited to be a part of this wonderful community & can't wait to get out on the road!

JenBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2014, 06:35 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
1972 25' Tradewind
Hopkins , Minnesota
Can you post a pic to confirm the make and model of your door handle/lock. If it is the KT that is on my '72 Trade Wind, I believe I recently saw that has some replacement well as the entire mechanism (which is quite expensive). Good Luck!

arktos55343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 10:29 AM   #3
1968 24' Tradewind
Talkeetna , Alaska
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1409156867.890837.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	876.4 KB
ID:	220006

Here is a picture of the door handle, including lovely rig job to keep the door from flying open while driving.

JenBarnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 11:00 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member
1969 21' Globetrotter