Old 01-14-2009, 12:04 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1969 31' Sovereign
1976 Argosy 26
Fort Smith , Arkansas
'76 Argosy Keys

I am new to the world of Argosy and this forum. I have found out many interesting things reading the different post. I just purchased a 76 Argosy four days ago. Went to an estate sale and their she was in the backyard and I knew I had to have her. I left a bid on her and was elated when I won the bid. However, the estate sale people left some keys inside of the trailer after the sale was over but they do not work. There was no door key and several small keys that were meant to open the outside compartments. None of the small keys would open any of the locks. They would go in the key hole but they would not turn. I tried for 30-40 minutes and gave up. I called the estate sale people but they were not much help for the trailer previously belonged to an elderly couple and that is the keys the elderly lady gave them. There is also a tounge key lock but I can cut it off with a bolt cutter. What are my options for securing keys for this girl. She wants out of the lonley backyard soon. I feel so lucky to have won the bid on this Argosy, 26 ft. Any help would be appreciated.

Cathy Libby in Tulsa, OK

Old 01-14-2009, 12:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1978 Argosy Minuet 6.7 Metre
1989 29' Excella
Lorain County , Ohio
Send a message via AIM to loudruff Send a message via MSN to loudruff Send a message via Yahoo to loudruff
door lock

Cathy,
If you can get the main entry door open, a good lock smith will have a replacement cylinder. And the other locks are fairly common and you might find some Airstreamers/Argosy owners in your area that can try their keys. Arkansas has a fine Airstream Dealer that is on the forums and may be of help to you.
www.airstreamofarkansas.com

Lou and Larry...in Ohio

Air #2695
TAC- OH 2
#1420 NOVA 4-006 Charter member

loudruff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 01:04 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

1975 31' Sovereign