Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-29-2014, 04:52 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2015 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Aston , Pennsylvania
Wifi Repeater Feeding Traditional Router

OK, I should start by saying I'm an engineer and have lots of gadgets. I'm prepping my EB 27FB for a yearlong trip where I'll be doing work remotely. The goal is to keep my Apple Airport Time Capsule broadcasting my current SSID that all my devices connect to. I don't want to have to re-configure every device if I change from my mifi to a campground wifi signal.

I was going to get the following and use in repeater mode: Securifi Almond

In repeater mode, it would re-broadcast the signal it's getting, which I could care less about. I was going to take the cat5 cable connection from it and plug it in as the internet connection to my existing router. The Almond has a touchscreen, so going from the mifi to a new campground wifi would be pretty easy (no need to dig out laptop and connect to router and change settings) and all of my devices in the trailer wouldn't know the difference (always connected to the Apple router).

I'm not sure if anyone does anything similar and/or if campground wifi sites allow people to connect a repeater.

Anyone see a flaw in this plan?
BASE729 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 06:40 PM   #2
Full Time Adventurer

2007 27' International CCD FB
Nomadic , USA
Over complicated perhaps. Most folks don't have a lot of luck with campground wifi in general. It usually terrible and over loaded. Last campground we where at that offered it, it was literally a router in the office window. Most campgrounds have zero concept of the real infrastructure needed to provide reliable wifi.

If you want to connect using Wifi as WAN I'd suggest looking at Pepwave, Cradlepoint or Wifi- Ranger (although this last one is over priced IMO)