Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2009, 01:56 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2009 23' International
Boulder , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
Ethernet, cable, internet for 09 airstream

Hello,

I'll be parking my 09 international at my parents for a few months. We would like to get a broadband connection to the trailer using my parents cable modem. Yes we could get wifi but the cable modem is way on the other side of the house....I thinking I have plenty of cable and/or ethernet cable that i could pump broadband into the trailer via cables....either taking advantage of the old school phone wiring in the trailer (Anyone know if this is a cat5 wiring?) OR could i put a splitter on my parents cable going into the house and run that to the "cable hookup" on the trailer.....then i'd need an additional cable modem i guess inside the trailer.......any thoughts???

thanks!!
__________________

__________________
tmarquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Westfalia's Avatar
 
2008 27' International CCD FB
Boerne, TX / , Evergreen, CO
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 904
Images: 35
Send a message via AIM to Westfalia Send a message via Skype™ to Westfalia
An add'l cable modem will require provisioning from the cable provider and will generate a separate bill and depending on the signal strength on the cable may be at all viable. The house wiring is not likely to be CAT-5. It should say on the outside of the cable jacket. You will need a dedicated line from the modem to the trailer with very few exceptions if the cable actually turns out to be CAT-5.

I would look into Powerline networking.
Amazon.com: Actiontec MegaPlug 85 Mbps Ethernet Adapter Twin-Pack: Electronics

It essentially pushes ethernet over the 120V lines in the house out to the trailer. One adapter on each end with a ethernet cable. It should work all of the way out to the trailer. If not, you can use it to put a new WiFi access point out closer to the trailer but still in the house.
__________________

__________________
Chris and Christina- Boerne, TX / Evergreen, CO - TAC TX-7
2008 27'FB Int'l Signature CCD
Westfalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:41 PM   #3
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,333
I'd be more inclined to try to find a wireless solution. The wiring in the trailer is NOT CAT5e or similar. At best you'd be running an Ethernet cable outside to do this, when in reality, if you ran the same cable as far as you could inside the house, you most likely could get a good wireless signal and not have an Ethernet wire outside. Keep in mind that that most Ethernet cabling you buy at a retail location is not going to be outdoor rated cable. Any moisture that gets into it and shorts it out (even at low voltages) is not going to be pretty......
__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:52 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
2009 23' International
Boulder , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 59
so the phone jack wiring inside the airstream is not cat 5?
I do have an extra cable modem. Could I just split the line that comes into the house and run a cable to the RV this way id have both cable and internet......although id probably have to get a second cable box....from our provider for the tv.

Thanks!
__________________
tmarquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 03:01 PM   #5
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmarquis View Post
so the phone jack wiring inside the airstream is not cat 5?
I do have an extra cable modem. Could I just split the line that comes into the house and run a cable to the RV this way id have both cable and internet......although id probably have to get a second cable box....from our provider for the tv.

Thanks!
No it isn't Cat5 rated. I've watched the RVs built at least 4x between 2003 and 2005. Unless they changed the wiring since early 2005, it's not Cat5 rated.

Most cable providers will not allow two modems on the same line. Your only real option as I see it are:

Get a small $40 10/100 switch. Connect that switch to the existing cable modem and run and Ethernet cable to the inside of the RV.

Go wireless somehow

Pay for an additional connection from the ISP.

If you do either to of the first two, you need not get an additional cable box. With one you have a cable outside and the other nothing outside and equal performance.

Keep in mind however that not all cable ISPs are the same. Some block more than one MAC address from accessing their network at any one given time.
__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 03:32 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Westfalia's Avatar
 
2008 27' International CCD FB
Boerne, TX / , Evergreen, CO
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 904
Images: 35
Send a message via AIM to Westfalia Send a message via Skype™ to Westfalia
Wow, you guys like to make this hard. I'll say again, Powerline networking.
__________________
Chris and Christina- Boerne, TX / Evergreen, CO - TAC TX-7
2008 27'FB Int'l Signature CCD
Westfalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 03:54 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,806
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westfalia View Post
Wow, you guys like to make this hard. I'll say again, Powerline networking.
There is one comment in the reviews of this product that is worth noting. It works well as long as you are plugged into the same circuit within the house. It is unlikely you will find the same circuit on opposite ends of the house but that is not to say you couldn't just run a AC receptacle over to that side off the circuit that the cable box uses.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 03:54 PM   #8
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westfalia View Post
Wow, you guys like to make this hard. I'll say again, Powerline networking.
Though I am sure it works, I've never been a fan of this. Just my personal opinion FWIW.

We have 5 buildings here at work that each have their own LAN connected together via a WAN. Think of all the $$$ I could have saved by not pulling data wiring.
__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 03:58 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2002 30' Classic
Ocala , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
I am sitting in my 2002 classic behind my house using a Linksys Powerline adapter. I run 3 in the house to network 2 desktops and a media extender. They work great with my cable highspeed. I also have a wireless router for house guests to use.

The one in the trailer is an extra I can move to different locations as needed.

A very simple solution. You need a pair to setup the basic configuration.
__________________
Bigdaddy_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 04:03 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,771
Images: 32
Good information on CAT 5 at Category 5 cable - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. Note the 100 meter (328 feet) maximum length for the runs, including the cable to your computer.

Just something else to consider
__________________
Vaughan
vswingfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 04:16 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Westfalia's Avatar
 
2008 27' International CCD FB
Boerne, TX / , Evergreen, CO
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 904
Images: 35
Send a message via AIM to Westfalia Send a message via Skype™ to Westfalia
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieE View Post
There is one comment in the reviews of this product that is worth noting. It works well as long as you are plugged into the same circuit within the house. It is unlikely you will find the same circuit on opposite ends of the house but that is not to say you couldn't just run a AC receptacle over to that side off the circuit that the cable box uses.
Howie, thanks for pointing that out, but that's not accurate info. I have used such products on multi leg circuits or circuits on different phases with great success. What does kill the signal are surge protectors. For transparency, I have never used the Actiontec power line network devices. I have use Netgear and Belkin.
__________________
Chris and Christina- Boerne, TX / Evergreen, CO - TAC TX-7
2008 27'FB Int'l Signature CCD
Westfalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 04:34 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Westfalia's Avatar
 
2008 27' International CCD FB
Boerne, TX / , Evergreen, CO
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 904
Images: 35
Send a message via AIM to Westfalia Send a message via Skype™ to Westfalia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvertwinkie View Post
Though I am sure it works, I've never been a fan of this. Just my personal opinion FWIW.

We have 5 buildings here at work that each have their own LAN connected together via a WAN. Think of all the $$$ I could have saved by not pulling data wiring.
True, but I'd think you data requirements to be a little more severe with high bandwidth and security needs. FWIW, I'm a big fan of hard wired ethernet connections where ever it is at all possible, but getting ethernet out to the trailer in the driveway had never been practical or required. Wireless worked, mostly, but connection dropouts due to the aluminum skin would occasionally creep up. That's why powerline networking makes so much sense in this situation. You could easily spend more money and time and still not have a satisfactory or dependable solution.
__________________
Chris and Christina- Boerne, TX / Evergreen, CO - TAC TX-7
2008 27'FB Int'l Signature CCD
Westfalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:39 PM   #13
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmarquis View Post
so the phone jack wiring inside the airstream is not cat 5?
I do have an extra cable modem. Could I just split the line that comes into the house and run a cable to the RV this way id have both cable and internet......although id probably have to get a second cable box....from our provider for the tv.

Thanks!
Are you talking DSL from the phone company or Cable internet from the Cable company? A cable modem will not work with DSL and vise versa.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:46 PM   #14
Aluminut
 
Silvertwinkie's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
. , Illinois
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 10,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westfalia View Post
True, but I'd think you data requirements to be a little more severe with high bandwidth and security needs.
I know I was just playin' around.
__________________

__________________
Computers manufactured by companies such as IBM, Compaq and millions of others are by far the most popular with about 70 million machines in use worldwide. Macintosh fans note that cockroaches are far more numerous than humans and that numbers alone do not denote a higher life form. -NY Times 11/91
Silvertwinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet On The Road Al - K4GLU Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping 66 06-16-2009 06:40 AM
Internet on the road Andy R Computers, Internet & Satellite 50 12-20-2008 09:23 PM
Internet on the road sparky5 Off Topic Forum 3 08-12-2005 01:33 AM
Internet on the road.. 53flyingcloud On The Road... 1 01-01-2004 01:52 PM
Internet service Dbraw Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 1 10-08-2002 08:48 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.