Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2018, 09:17 AM   #57
Rivet Master
 
gypsydad's Avatar

 
2017 28' Flying Cloud
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Austin (winter) Lincoln MT (summer) , Texas & Montana
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post
I believe it auto-switches to Blue Ray when the Blue Ray is powered up and back to DirecTV when Blue Ray power is turned off. You can also watch Blue Ray on the bed room TV. I have a separate DirecTV receiver for the bedroom and works independent of the kitchen.

Sorry guys I mislead you on the HDMI switch. It was not the Monoprice HDMI switch mentioned above but a Portta HDMI 3X2 Switcher that was installed by the Dealer. It does auto switch the TV from your TV Box to the Blue Ray when the Blue Ray is turned on. The connection is TV Box to input 1 and Blue Ray to input 2. Main or Kitchen TV is connected to Output 1 and Bedroom TV is connected to Output 2. It seems that the Dealer billed me for the Monoprice but installed the Portta HDMI Switcher insead. Kept the difference in cost. I love my AS but hate the Dealer I bought it from because of crap they pulled and this is just one example.
Thanks for the details...I will look into the splitter switch for the Blue Ray and Walley, but I don't need the bedroom connection...we don't watch TV in there; we like "lounging" in our living area on the couch; ...by the way did you need to add an extra power bar for the extra plugs?
__________________

__________________
Empty Nesters; Gypsies on the road!
2017 28' Twin Flying Cloud
2017 F250 King Ranch, 4X4, Blue-Ox WDH
Summer in Lincoln, MT- Winter in Austin, TX
gypsydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 10:52 AM   #58
Rivet Master
 
gypsydad's Avatar

 
2017 28' Flying Cloud
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Austin (winter) Lincoln MT (summer) , Texas & Montana
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,628
Maybe this needs to be a new thread on this topic, but I am wondering about replacing the Clarion factory unit with something that is easier to use, select speakers, etc...I saw the Jensen Bluetooth Stereo in this months Trailer Life, page 54, that has built in DVD player, which would eliminate the Bluetooth player issues, potentially? Anyone else have suggestions? I have not been a fan of the standard stereo units on all 4 of my AS's...first 3 were Sony, but this Clarion is a pain… Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Empty Nesters; Gypsies on the road!
2017 28' Twin Flying Cloud
2017 F250 King Ranch, 4X4, Blue-Ox WDH
Summer in Lincoln, MT- Winter in Austin, TX
gypsydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 08:24 PM   #59
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Tracktown USA , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruizinDux View Post
Zapper and gypsydad and rncordy(Bob) ..great feedback....Thanks!! I originally pulled the Blu-ray usng a thin metal ruler to release the velcro...saw the birds nest and some other unknown components, slipped it back in and decided to have CW install since I bought it from them. They followed your paths. Also allowed some time for a quick instructional.


happy trails


b
Houston we see you loud and clear. The park was wide open to the south so that was a no brainer. However for fun I brought GrandPa's antique level with an adjustable built in protractor to dial in the elevation and used a couple of pieces of trim as a pointer. Actually pretty accurate.

Had to works thru some 015A and other error screens but continued to play with it until poof....TV. Still have to use the TV remote to contrl the volume but the Wally Remote wors for everything else??? go figure.

We went with Dish's smart pack so we should get Fox News, Bloomberg, the weather channel some various other channels and a fair amount of religion as filler....and the local stations...$45 for 30 days and for us perfect.

We connected via the AS's Sat connection in the rear quarter which has about a 10' run to the wally...used the old HDMI connection from the blue-ray which is where it's installed in the cabinet. I keep the cabinet open as the Wally seems to generate a fair amount of heat. I bought a 90 deg coax connection for the AS sat connection to maybe take the stress off that connector.

Again, thanks everybody for all the help and advice

Happy Trails
Bob
CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 10:36 AM   #60
Rivet Master
 
gypsydad's Avatar

 
2017 28' Flying Cloud
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Austin (winter) Lincoln MT (summer) , Texas & Montana
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruizinDux View Post
Houston we see you loud and clear. The park was wide open to the south so that was a no brainer. However for fun I brought GrandPa's antique level with an adjustable built in protractor to dial in the elevation and used a couple of pieces of trim as a pointer. Actually pretty accurate.

Had to works thru some 015A and other error screens but continued to play with it until poof....TV. Still have to use the TV remote to contrl the volume but the Wally Remote wors for everything else??? go figure.

We went with Dish's smart pack so we should get Fox News, Bloomberg, the weather channel some various other channels and a fair amount of religion as filler....and the local stations...$45 for 30 days and for us perfect.

We connected via the AS's Sat connection in the rear quarter which has about a 10' run to the wally...used the old HDMI connection from the blue-ray which is where it's installed in the cabinet. I keep the cabinet open as the Wally seems to generate a fair amount of heat. I bought a 90 deg coax connection for the AS sat connection to maybe take the stress off that connector.

Again, thanks everybody for all the help and advice

Happy Trails
Bob
Well, just to add to your excitement, (at least mine), I just called Dish to let them know I would not be renewing this month, after 2 weeks on the road from MT to TX....I had received a renewal bill...they told me no problems...they would "bank" the other 2 weeks for next time I turn on my Dish for use again! I said, "WHAT??"

Never heard of a company (least not in several years) that allowed you to "bank" unused subscription time...(think ATT or Verizon...) Anyway, that was an unexpected plus to getting the Dish for the AS! They said I would have $16.00 to apply when I call back to activate again. I may "upgrade" next time I subscribe for a months use, and get the "smart pack" also now!
__________________
Empty Nesters; Gypsies on the road!
2017 28' Twin Flying Cloud
2017 F250 King Ranch, 4X4, Blue-Ox WDH
Summer in Lincoln, MT- Winter in Austin, TX
gypsydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 11:14 AM   #61
4 Rivet Member
 
sbowman's Avatar
 
1972 31' Excella 500
2017 30' Classic
Grapeview , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by prairieschooner View Post
Not sure how important TV is in life~~~~~~~FAKE NEWS!!

FBN, we stay tuned in for market research. It keeps us in the money to pay for all the add on's for our AS and trips.............


Safe travels and best regards
__________________
Scott & Liz
2017 Classic
2016 RAM 3500 6.7
sbowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 05:57 PM   #62
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Tracktown USA , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by gypsydad View Post
Well, just to add to your excitement, (at least mine), I just called Dish to let them know I would not be renewing this month, after 2 weeks on the road from MT to TX....I had received a renewal bill...they told me no problems...they would "bank" the other 2 weeks for next time I turn on my Dish for use again! I said, "WHAT??"

Never heard of a company (least not in several years) that allowed you to "bank" unused subscription time...(think ATT or Verizon...) Anyway, that was an unexpected plus to getting the Dish for the AS! They said I would have $16.00 to apply when I call back to activate again. I may "upgrade" next time I subscribe for a months use, and get the "smart pack" also now!

gypsydad excellent feedback thanks




I also must add, tho the general support like most on-line call centers has been IMO lacking, their tech support was great and understandable. A good learning conversation indeed.



b
CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 07:09 PM   #63
3 Rivet Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
2017 30' Flying Cloud
Highland , California
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by gypsydad View Post
Thanks for the details...I will look into the splitter switch for the Blue Ray and Walley, but I don't need the bedroom connection...we don't watch TV in there; we like "lounging" in our living area on the couch; ...by the way did you need to add an extra power bar for the extra plugs?
Nope no extra power. The HDMI Switcher comes with a small plug in AC. power transformer. The Winegard G3 carry out has an inside cabinet power supply that is in between the dish and the DirecTV receiver. It supplies power to the dish and 50 feet of coaxial cable.
zapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 01:12 PM   #64
Rivet Master
 
gypsydad's Avatar

 
2017 28' Flying Cloud
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Austin (winter) Lincoln MT (summer) , Texas & Montana
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post
Nope no extra power. The HDMI Switcher comes with a small plug in AC. power transformer. The Winegard G3 carry out has an inside cabinet power supply that is in between the dish and the DirecTV receiver. It supplies power to the dish and 50 feet of coaxial cable.
Confused... My Blue Ray OEM unit was plugged into an HDMI splitter which took it to the lounge TV and to the bedroom TV. (I understnd the antenna/dish gets it's power from outside coax plug.) There is just a standard electrical outlet with 2 feeds inside the cabinet where BlueRay sits. The splitter has a power cord plugged into one outlet in the cabinet and the BlueRay was plugged into the other outlet. No issue yet, since I replaced the BlueRay with the Walley and did not reconnect the power. Not a biggy now since I am researching a replacment stereo receiver with built-in DVD player to replace the Clarion, but was just wondering if your set up was same as mine with 2 tv's and the splitter requiring a power source.
__________________
Empty Nesters; Gypsies on the road!
2017 28' Twin Flying Cloud
2017 F250 King Ranch, 4X4, Blue-Ox WDH
Summer in Lincoln, MT- Winter in Austin, TX
gypsydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 03:42 PM   #65
3 Rivet Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
2017 30' Flying Cloud
Highland , California
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by gypsydad View Post
Confused... My Blue Ray OEM unit was plugged into an HDMI splitter which took it to the lounge TV and to the bedroom TV. (I understnd the antenna/dish gets it's power from outside coax plug.) There is just a standard electrical outlet with 2 feeds inside the cabinet where BlueRay sits. The splitter has a power cord plugged into one outlet in the cabinet and the BlueRay was plugged into the other outlet. No issue yet, since I replaced the BlueRay with the Walley and did not reconnect the power. Not a biggy now since I am researching a replacment stereo receiver with built-in DVD player to replace the Clarion, but was just wondering if your set up was same as mine with 2 tv's and the splitter requiring a power source.
Like yours mine came with the same with a 1 X 2 HDMI splitter. The one that was installed by the dealer was a 3 X 2 Switcher/splitter allowing for 3 selectable inputs to 2 outputs w/power supply. I use 2 inputs and 2 outputs. The 2 inputs are: one from the DirecTV receiver and one from the Blue Ray. The outputs are one to the TV in the Kitchen and one to the Bedroom. So the bedroom TV can see everything the kitchen TV can see. I don't use this option.

(Right now the Switcher/splitter is on the fritz. Replacement arrives on Monday)

The switcher has an auto switch capability. In other words turning on the Blue Ray automatically switches to the active input, then back again to Dish receiver when turned off. No need to use the remote. Neat.

There is another wrinkle in this, the Bedroom has a separate DirecTV receiver. The wife and I don't share the same taste in programing.

Its signal comes from the second coaxial cable to the dish. If you look at the outside of the AS you see 2 covered coaxial inputs. The rear one is for the Bedroom, the front is for the Kitchen. Open them up each has 2 inputs. The kitchen input on the left is for Park cable and bypasses the dish receivers. the input on the right is for your connection to the outside dish. Same as for the Bedroom the one on the right is for the outside dish, the one on the left is not used in my application.

Ain't easy. Technology is great when it works. When it doesn't...………….?
zapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 05:53 PM   #66
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Tracktown USA , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,714
Just to toss this into the mix

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f317...-180791-3.html check out my post #35...inc the contained link. Specifics and instructions from JC...their example included a splitter

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f37/...am-159726.html post 14 with instructions from JC in pdf format attached.


Hope this helps


Bob
CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 09:47 AM   #67
Rivet Master
 
gypsydad's Avatar

 
2017 28' Flying Cloud
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Austin (winter) Lincoln MT (summer) , Texas & Montana
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post
Like yours mine came with the same with a 1 X 2 HDMI splitter. The one that was installed by the dealer was a 3 X 2 Switcher/splitter allowing for 3 selectable inputs to 2 outputs w/power supply. I use 2 inputs and 2 outputs. The 2 inputs are: one from the DirecTV receiver and one from the Blue Ray. The outputs are one to the TV in the Kitchen and one to the Bedroom. So the bedroom TV can see everything the kitchen TV can see. I don't use this option.

(Right now the Switcher/splitter is on the fritz. Replacement arrives on Monday)

The switcher has an auto switch capability. In other words turning on the Blue Ray automatically switches to the active input, then back again to Dish receiver when turned off. No need to use the remote. Neat.

There is another wrinkle in this, the Bedroom has a separate DirecTV receiver. The wife and I don't share the same taste in programing.

Its signal comes from the second coaxial cable to the dish. If you look at the outside of the AS you see 2 covered coaxial inputs. The rear one is for the Bedroom, the front is for the Kitchen. Open them up each has 2 inputs. The kitchen input on the left is for Park cable and bypasses the dish receivers. the input on the right is for your connection to the outside dish. Same as for the Bedroom the one on the right is for the outside dish, the one on the left is not used in my application.

Ain't easy. Technology is great when it works. When it doesn't...………….?
All good stuff, and I get it. Still wondering about the "3rd" power plug needed if I get the powered splitter and also attach the BlueRay…. Did you get a power bar for all the plugs or what?
1) Walley power
2) Existing splitter power to the 2 TV's
3) Blue Ray power
4) New splitter for BR and Walley, power. Not a big deal, just wondering...those power bars aren't small...
__________________
Empty Nesters; Gypsies on the road!
2017 28' Twin Flying Cloud
2017 F250 King Ranch, 4X4, Blue-Ox WDH
Summer in Lincoln, MT- Winter in Austin, TX
gypsydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 03:15 PM   #68
3 Rivet Member
 
zapper's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
2017 30' Flying Cloud
Highland , California
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruizinDux View Post
Just to toss this into the mix

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f317...-180791-3.html check out my post #35...inc the contained link. Specifics and instructions from JC...their example included a splitter

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f37/...am-159726.html post 14 with instructions from JC in pdf format attached.


Hope this helps


Bob


Bob- That link was great especially the JC *.pdf. Amazed on the amount of info that is already out there. Just have to know where to look. Causes one to consistently have to reinvent the wheel sometimes. Thanks
zapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 08:57 PM   #69
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Tracktown USA , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapper View Post
Bob- That link was great especially the JC *.pdf. Amazed on the amount of info that is already out there. Just have to know where to look. Causes one to consistently have to reinvent the wheel sometimes. Thanks

Glad to help. It is hard...often there are numerous parallel threads running in a close timeframe...search refer fan or GYE. I often save links that i think i may need later, but still have to search, like in this instance. I saved the pdf but it took awhile to find the original source.

Happy trails.
Bob
CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2018, 04:26 PM   #70
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' International
LINCOLN , Nebraska
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 86
Dish Tailgater System

I have had a Dish Tailgater for about four years. It use to be a problem because every time I relocated I would call Dish and get a service person who knew nothing about a traveling dish and spend a good hour trying to get reception.

Dish now has a internet location you can go to and solve many problems yourself as well as get local stations right on internet (we have a HotSpot through Consumer Cellular so easy to get WiFi). You can also update your tailgater programing, which needs to get updates about once every two weeks. It is now very easy online and takes a very short time other than the time to get your location setup on your TV screen and wait for other location settings. The website is just www.Dish.com (setup an account online if you don't have one) and then go to My Account > My Equipment (make sure your trailer receiver is ON): then go > Dish Outdoors and follow the procedures on this page. If you can't get any of the above to work then there is a toll free number to call and get assistance, and now they are VERY HELPFUL, unlike a few years ago. Hope this works for you and anyone else looking for quick connection to local channels, receiver Wake UP, and Dish Outdoors where you can do these yourself.
__________________

MissingLink5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish Vs Directv Satellite Dish? AWCHIEF Computers, Internet & Satellite 5 12-02-2017 01:36 PM
Tailgater Satellite Dish-DISH TV Mrjkq Computers, Internet & Satellite 15 11-11-2016 11:18 AM
Canadian Satellite systems Old Fulica Audio, Video & TV 11 04-24-2009 06:25 PM
Satellite Dish Installation John Brimer Flat-Front (Cutter, Clipper, XC, XL & Skydeck) Motorhomes 4 12-28-2004 09:13 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.