Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2014, 01:02 PM   #1
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 46
Images: 4
DirecTV/Winegard G2 Sat Setup

I am trying to setup my DirecTV (H24 receiver) with a new Windgard G2 auto sat dish. I can't seem to get the receiver to work/get the signal. I've had the box activated while on the phone with DT and still no luck. I think I'm close, but I must be missing something. I'm gonna work at it again this weekend and plan to move the sat dish around some to see if that helps. Although, I feel like I have had a really clear view of the southern/southwestern sky. This is not my first time to setup a sat dish. If you can think of any think I might try, please feel free to comment. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 01:28 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 293
For Directv, I think channel 100 is in the clear so you should be able to receive it whether your receiver is activated or not.

I am not familiar with the G2 Winegard antenna but if it is not an SWM (Single Wire Multiplexed) LNB then you will also need a B-band converter on the coax to the receiver. It is a small inline filter that attaches between the Coax and the receiver.

Another cause for lack of signal (assuming the Auto G2 is working properly) is a splitter that does not pass the proper bandwidth. You need a special splitter to split Satellite Coax.
__________________

__________________
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 04:24 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Moflash's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,167
Push the antenna amplifier button to on inside the trailer.Should be located on the cable jack plate.I have a 28ft International and is is below the dinette.
__________________
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 10:31 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
extiger's Avatar
 
2011 30' Classic
Kingwood , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 219
Images: 1
You may want to hookup the dish, receiver and TV independent of the trailer and make sure it works. If set up is ok then trailer issue. If trailer problem, as previously noted most likely cable/on air switch setting. Also be sure that jumper cable is removed and cables connected to in/out connections to/from receiver.
__________________
2011 30' Classic
2015 Ford F250 4X4 Platinum
ProPride Hitch
extiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 12:30 AM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 13
I have a G2 with a H24 receiver. How are you connecting the coax to the receiver? I have a 2014 international 23fb and my coax was located with my blue ray player. Also select 3-LNB (18x20) with the multi switch. You do not us the b band converters since the dish does not support HD for directv. I hope this helps.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
firemed509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 09:56 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 175
I just did this last weekend with my G2. As mentioned make sure to follow receiver set up with LB and multi-switch settings. I ended up running my coax directly to the back of the receiver and then running the HDMI cable to the TV. I tried connecting the coax to the outside coax outlet, but it must be going through some type of switch, which you cannot do. I ended up removing a screw on the screen and running it into the cabin. It wasn't pretty but worked. I'll work on the getting to the outside outlet when I have time to determine how to ad void the coax switching. Good luck. It was the first time I had ever had any tv in my unit and I enjoyed watching some football on Thursday night in the backwoods.

Cheers,
Bigcgar


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 10:52 AM   #7
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 46
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVDreamer View Post
For Directv, I think channel 100 is in the clear so you should be able to receive it whether your receiver is activated or not.

I am not familiar with the G2 Winegard antenna but if it is not an SWM (Single Wire Multiplexed) LNB then you will also need a B-band converter on the coax to the receiver. It is a small inline filter that attaches between the Coax and the receiver.

Another cause for lack of signal (assuming the Auto G2 is working properly) is a splitter that does not pass the proper bandwidth. You need a special splitter to split Satellite Coax.
I'll have to check my splitter/switcher. I'll probably take the S-S out of line and connect TV directly to receiver via HDMI cable. Do you happen to know what the correct bandwidth should be?
__________________
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 10:54 AM   #8
Archie
 
archiedh's Avatar
 
2014 30' Flying Cloud
Ridgeland , Mississippi
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 46
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moflash View Post
Push the antenna amplifier button to on inside the trailer.Should be located on the cable jack plate.I have a 28ft International and is is below the dinette.
Where the green light will be on?
__________________
archiedh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:07 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Moflash's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,167
Yes


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:28 AM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 175
I don't believe you can go through the switch. The manual indicates this so you need to completely avoid any switch. That's why I went directly to receiver. I'm sure there is a way to direct connect using the coax outlet on the outside of your AS and bypassing the switch, but I haven't spent time on it yet. If you pull off the inside coax outlet you'll see 2or3 coax cables terminating into the outlet and I'm sure one comes in directly from the outside to this switch.


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:32 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Moflash's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Springfield , Missouri
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,167
Switch won't affect anything as it is the same signal as cable it was designed for


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
Moflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:36 AM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 175
It didn't work for me!!! I had to bypass it to get it to work


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 11:40 AM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
Bigcgar's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB International
2011 23' International
Larkspur , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 175
See photo..Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1410626434.649686.jpg
Views:	370
Size:	427.7 KB
ID:	221674


Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
__________________
Allan & Vicki
Larkspur, CO
Be well, fish on!
Bigcgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 01:44 PM   #14
4 Rivet Member
 
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moflash View Post
Switch won't affect anything as it is the same signal as cable it was designed for


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
No, you can not use a switch or splitter unless it is specifically designed for Satellite tv bandwidth. Most common splitters and switches will not pass the proper band for Directv receivers as they are designed for cable tv which uses a vary narrow bandwidth compared to Directv satellite.

If you go to solidsignal.com or possibly Radio Shack you can buy Directv satellite splitters.

Your best bet is to go directly from the satellite antenna to the receiver. Then use HDMI connection from receiver to TV. If you get a HDMI splitter you can run Blueray, Satellite, to main and bedroom tv if available.

I would not use the external connection, unless you by pass the switch.
__________________

__________________
RVDreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard carry on satellite setup PhGeeman 2009-2015 Flying Cloud 1 09-09-2012 09:48 PM
Winegard RoadTrip Minimax - no sat reception??? aausland Computers, Internet & Satellite 2 04-29-2010 10:47 AM
Directv DSL John Off Topic Forum 16 01-17-2003 07:26 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.