Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2011, 02:42 PM   #15
3 Rivet Member
 
Smoky's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Eau Claire , Wisconsin
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 125
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by perryg114 View Post
That kit is the antenna like I sent you before and this router with DD-WRT firmware.

Newegg.com - Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/g up to 54Mbps/ Compatible with Open Source DD-WRT (not pre-load)

Newegg.com - Amped Wireless A8EX High Power 8dBi Omni-Directional Outdoor WiFi Antenna Kit

So if it is worth the extra $50 to have someone else deal with the software/firmware issues then it is a good deal.

Perry
I thought about it but they write their own custom firmware and offer tech support.
__________________

__________________
1961 Avion T-27


Smoky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 02:49 PM   #16
3 Rivet Member
 
Smoky's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Eau Claire , Wisconsin
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 125
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwhittle View Post
It works differently than a Jefa Tech as it does not contend on the same WiFi channel. It rebroadcasts on an independent WiFi channel. If there are more than one Jefa Tech style repeaters in an area, the bandwidth can be very limited for everyone.

Paul
I'm not sure I understand, why would more than one repeater in an area restrict bandwidth?
__________________

__________________
1961 Avion T-27


Smoky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 03:03 PM   #17
2 Rivet Member
 
pwhittle's Avatar
 
1982 31' Airstream310
Alpharetta , Georgia
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoky View Post
I'm not sure I understand, why would more than one repeater in an area restrict bandwidth?
Please take a look at this post on another RV forum. It explains it well.

WiFi repeaters, extenders, enhancers, elongators, whatever... - iRV2 Forums

Paul
__________________
1982 FFC with Motorhome Interior
http://shineee.whittlegroup.com
pwhittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 09:25 PM   #18
Rivet Master
 
2002 19' Bambi
Lafayette , California
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skater View Post
1. When you go to a new campground, do you have to go into the config page to set up which network you want repeated?

2. If you go back to a campground you previously visited, does it automatically repeat the network it already knows about? For example, on my laptop and phone, I only have to set up each network once; when I go near that network later, it automatically uses the network. I'm wondering whether the JEFA Tech setup does the same thing, or if you have to do something to set it up every time.
Sorry I did not respond sooner. You have to tell the JEFA Tech setup each time what network to connect to. That is easy to do via a web browser. If we are in a location with external power and WiFi, we leave the repeater on the entire time we are there which avoids reconnecting all the time.

Apparently the JEFA Tech repeater will work on the trailer's 12v system, but I believe that isn't covered by the warranty.

Tim
__________________
Tim A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:44 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
I would think a better solution would be to have a CAT5 connection in the power box at the campground instead of this Wifi mess. If you are going to get good signal in your trailer you pretty much have to have a repeater. If you want your own private network in the trailer then you need two routers. One configured as a repeater and the other configured as a router. You still are impacting bandwidth no matter what you do.

I have an online motorcycle parts business. When we are traveling it is a pain to do business stuff because of no internet. Usually we end up going to McDonalds or the local library for internet access. I don't like the cell network connections because of the expense and bandwidth metering. Maybe by the time I am able to travel for more than a week they will have some better solutions.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 11:08 PM   #20
2 Rivet Member
 
pwhittle's Avatar
 
1982 31' Airstream310
Alpharetta , Georgia
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 95
I am currently at TopSail and a long way from the WiFi service. Our wireless devices cannot even see the park WiFi service.

With my Bullet 2HP and 8dBi antenna we are able to connect to the park WiFi and have had good WiFi in the Motorhome all week!

Paul
__________________
1982 FFC with Motorhome Interior
http://shineee.whittlegroup.com
pwhittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 05:56 AM   #21
4 Rivet Member
 
2005 28' Safari
saline , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by perryg114
I would think a better solution would be to have a CAT5 connection in the power box at the campground instead of this Wifi mess. If you are going to get good signal in your trailer you pretty much have to have a repeater. If you want your own private network in the trailer then you need two routers. One configured as a repeater and the other configured as a router. You still are impacting bandwidth no matter what you do.

I have an online motorcycle parts business. When we are traveling it is a pain to do business stuff because of no internet. Usually we end up going to McDonalds or the local library for internet access. I don't like the cell network connections because of the expense and bandwidth metering. Maybe by the time I am able to travel for more than a week they will have some better solutions.

Perry
Perry, you can get around the bandwidth metering by going to an Android phone through Sprint and using the 'hotspot' feature. It makes the phone a 3 or 4g router and the data is unlimited. The cost is $20 / mo. If you have a marginal signal you can put phone outside the trailer. Sprints 'hotspot' plan is month to month so I turn the service on when I go on a trip and disconnect when home. 3g is not high speed but usually way better than campground wi-fi.
__________________

__________________
Kosm1o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello from Northern Nevada! Tazameir Member Introductions 43 07-28-2015 12:20 AM
Do you have problems getting WiFi in your Airstream? WiFiRanger Electronics & Connectivity 27 02-08-2012 02:01 AM
Mobile Computing fastrob Electronics & Connectivity 56 02-09-2011 07:13 PM
Banking melbel Full-Timing 23 02-01-2011 06:32 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.