Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2009, 08:09 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
Smoky's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Eau Claire , Wisconsin
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 125
Images: 8
can my router connect to rv parks router?

I'm at an rv park that has good high speed internet. I have two computers and a router in my trailer. I want to network the two computers. I'm fairly certain I know how to share an internet connection...so one computer accesses the internet through the other one. I'm wondering if I could use my router to somehow connect to the rv parks router. In other words I would like to network my two computers so they connect to my router....and then have my router access the internet via the rv parks router. Is this possible?
__________________

__________________
1961 Avion T-27


Smoky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
wxbuoy's Avatar
 
1991 35' Airstream 350
Carriere , Mississippi
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,205
Send a message via Skype™ to wxbuoy
Not that I have ever heard of. Since the router is designed to broadcast a connection from a land line, not rebroadcast a signal. Why not just hook both of them up to the RV parks service? Shouldn't be a big deal if they both have wireless cards. If not you can get one at any Best buy for $30 bucks.
__________________

__________________
wxbuoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:00 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Jim Foster's Avatar
 
1965 17' Caravel
1983 27' Excella
Walnut Grove/Laguna Woods , California
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,615
Send a message via Yahoo to Jim Foster
Smoky

Are you talking about a wifi router or a cable router?

We have a wifi router in our home. WE have cable internet, and a cable router as input to the wifi router. We connect both of our laptops and a desktop to the internet via that wifi router. All three computers are networked via the wifi router. We have a printer connected to the desktop and can use that printer from either laptop via the wifi network.

When we are on the road at an RV park with a wifi connection, the two laptops recognize each other via the RV park wifi network. We can connect the printer to either laptop, and print from either laptop via the network using the RV park wifi.

When on any wifi network we can pass files from one laptop to the other via that wifi network. We can both get on line and do whatever we wish. We do not need another router.

Fun Stuff.
__________________
Jim Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:14 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
San Diego , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 331
Images: 6
You may need a hub if you want to use them both with CAT5

Randy
__________________
OB Bambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:37 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
norsea's Avatar
 
2008 30' Classic
On the road since 2000 , norseaodyssey.com
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 254
In a word, YES; depending....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoky View Post
I'm at an rv park that has good high speed internet. I have two computers and a router in my trailer. I want to network the two computers. I'm fairly certain I know how to share an internet connection...so one computer accesses the internet through the other one. I'm wondering if I could use my router to somehow connect to the rv parks router. In other words I would like to network my two computers so they connect to my router....and then have my router access the internet via the rv parks router. Is this possible?
OK, I will play this straight.

Your question has multiple issues that need to be addressed.

First, yes, each of your computer(s) can each access your router.

What I am trying to understand, is why you would have a router IF you have your two computers "tied" together to access the network. If you are doing this, one of your computers is acting as a router already. A router is really not needed if you are doing this.

So, assuming that your question is legitimate, I will respond.

Each of your computers can connect with your router. This does mean that they can no longer be "networked" together.

The real issue about your router connecting to wifi in an RV park (or anywhere else, for that matter) is totally dependent on the firmware that is running on your router. I am not aware of ANY router that is shipped by a manufacturer that allows IP addresses to be obtained by way of DHCP when the router is configured to operate as a repeater.

Based on my experience, all of the router manufacturers hardware is configured with firmware that requires a hard coded IP address when they are configured to operate as a repeater. What does this mean?

A router can be configured to operate in numerous way. One of them is to operate as a repeater. A repeater does, very simply, what it's name implies. It connects to another router and "repeates" the signal from that router. So, in an RV park (or any other wireless type of encounter) the RV park has a router that broadcasts a wireless signal. Anyone within range of the signal can connect to it.

For purposes of this conversation we will NOT discuss the type of connection the broadcasting router is configured to offer; secure (pass-worded, or not pass-worded) or not secure. If your computer is in rage and can receive the signal you can connect.

Your router, set up as a repeater, can also connect to the a broadcasting router and "repeat" the signal. The key here is that your router MUST be configured ot operate as a repeater. AND, it must be able to obtain an IP address via DHCP. If you cannot obtain an IP address by way of DHCP, you must have a hard coded IP address; this means that the person in charge of the wifi network you are connecting to can provide you with an IP address; this is not going to happen.

Once again, I am not aware of any firmware that comes with a router from any manufacturer that allows the router to be configured to operate as a repeater AND obtain an IP address via DHCP.

BUT, there is a solution if you have a piece of hardware that is supported by some public domain firmware that can be installed on your router that replaces the factory installed firmware. This is DD-WRT.

IF your are technically inclined, installing this firmware on your router, IF it is in fact supported by the DD-WRT team is not too difficult. But, this is NOT for the technical novice. It is VERY easy to "brick" your router - this means that it will never work again!

I am guilty of making a somewhat LONG post in respose to another wifi question here:http://www.airforums.com/forums/f451...-go-54832.html

I suggest that you peruse this thread for additional information....

Jim
__________________
We are travelers with an attitude. We get to go anywhere, anytime, and have attitudes about what we see and hear.

"Travel is fatal to bigotry, prejudice and being narrow minded."
norsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 10:04 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
c177tx's Avatar
 
2008 19' Bambi
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 112
Images: 20
Could he not set up a wireless bridge?, by having the router connect to the Parks wifi, then using cat cables connect to his laptops? Is this possible, I could see an application here because the router could have outside ant's for better reception.
__________________
c177tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:02 AM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
Smoky's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Eau Claire , Wisconsin
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 125
Images: 8
I guess the concept here is security. Yes my two computers can see each other on the rv parks network, so perhaps I just need to tweak the security settings? I am aware of flashing the router to turn it into a repeater but that wasn't the question. Intuitively it seems my router could appear to be one computer to the rv parks router. In other words, I want my router to connect to the rv parks router.

disable DHCP on my router?
set in client mode?
__________________
1961 Avion T-27


Smoky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:32 AM   #8
aluminauti
 
whitelight's Avatar
 
Where we , Park it!
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 304
Images: 6
Smoky,

I'm not quite sure what you are attempting to accomplish - if you can receive the parks wifi signal & have a wifi card in each computer, then both can receive the signal.

If you can receive the signal on one computer, but can't on the other due to its location, then you need to have an external antenna connected to a specially configured router. Then, this router can broadcast the signal to all computers with a wifi card OR several can be connected directly via a cable.
Check out this website:
JEFA Tech WiFi Solutions for RV's

(I have no commercial interest in this company)

We purchased one of their routers that is pre-configured the DD-WRT firmware. With this "tweaked" router, you can pick up a park's wifi and re-broadcast into the trailer.

If there are issues with the signal of this "tweaked" router AND you are going to go entirely wireless inside the trailer, you may have to also connect an access point to the router.

In any case, with an external antenna, the tweaked router and possibly an access point, you can have both computers access the wifi signal.
Security is possible through setting up a WPA security password.

We found the set up instructions & support from Jefa Tech to be prompt & clear. Whatever you decide to do, outline what you want to do with your network first & then talk to a wifi specialist that has experience configuring for an RV.
__________________
whitelight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 06:13 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
65CV's Avatar
 
1959 26' Overlander
Western , Massachusetts
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,449
Images: 6
Sure you "can"

Right, dd-wrt is the way to go.

If you are adventuresome, just pick up a linksys or preferably buffalo router and flash it with dd-wrt. You can set it up as a repeater and can link to the park wireless and link wirelessly or via cat-5 to your local wireless router.

Easiest instructions are here RV, RV Wireless Repeater, RV Wireless Bridge, Wireless Bridge, Wireless Repeater, Universal Wireless Repeater, WiFi Antenna and Bridge, DD-WRT | Nye Technology Services, LLC or go to the dd-wrt.org website.

I'm running out the door, but next google "cantenna". The combo is pretty slick and, if you grab a used router, can all be done for less than $50.
__________________
65CV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 09:01 AM   #10
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
I don't understand why you need all this Wifi stuff. Isn't one of the advantages of an Aistream is the protection from all those radio-type waves?

I always wear my tinfoil hat when outside the trailer.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 12:56 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
Smoky's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Eau Claire , Wisconsin
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 125
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitelight View Post
Smoky,

I'm not quite sure what you are attempting to accomplish - if you can receive the parks wifi signal & have a wifi card in each computer, then both can receive the signal.

yeah...I'm confused now what I want to accomplish as well. I can connect both computers to the rv parks router but was concerned about networking my two computers and file sharing issues and such.

Thanks for all the great information.
__________________
1961 Avion T-27


Smoky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 06:13 PM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
darlingbooks's Avatar
 
2006 34' Classic S/O
Parkdale , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 144
Images: 51
Blog Entries: 43
Smoky, we have a cabled solution to just what you are needing to happen.

I threw a few hundred dollars at Hawking hi-gain antennas, Linksys wireless bridge, and Hawking wireless signal booster, and various coax cable connectors and adapters. All of this was building a complex system that ultimately was not the cleanest solution to getting the wifi signal into the Airstream. I gave all of this up and sold the items that I didnít break.

I read about USB wireless adapters here on the forums, and I bought into the Radio Labs USB wireless marine antenna, and the USB 15í extension cable.

I found the hole in the floor at front of the Airstrean where the electrical cables passed through, and this was my access to run the USB extension cable through. I mounted a weatherproof outlet box close by the front of the trailer, and ran the cable end into it.

The antenna is mounted onto PVC pipe and Velcro strapped to the awning, and the cable is connected within the weatherproof box. This is simple to take down and move, and reassemble.

Inside of the trailer, my cabled solution was to turn off the built-in wireless adapters on the computers, and on one of the computers, to use the USB connected Radio Labs wireless adapter. The computers share the common wireless connection through the ethernet ports and a hub. The hub could be replaced with a router, and perhaps a wireless router within the trailer could be configured.

We all agree that wireless signals donít get in the Airstreams well all of the time, and this is just the solution that I found that works for us at this time.

No matter how cleaver you think that you are in solving a problem, a dozen people will show you a better solution.

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0234.JPG
Views:	133
Size:	145.3 KB
ID:	90557   Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0235.JPG
Views:	123
Size:	216.2 KB
ID:	90558  

Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0236.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	319.3 KB
ID:	90559   Click image for larger version

Name:	PICT0237.JPG
Views:	127
Size:	216.2 KB
ID:	90560  

__________________
darlingbooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 11:20 PM   #13
New Member
 
2009 22' Sport
San Francisco , California
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Wireless Bridge

There's a great product that will do exactly what you're looking for. It will connect to the parks WiFI and create a separate WiFi Network for your laptops to connect to. It provides a router/firewall between the networks. The device is a Ruckus Metroflex Router. I use the 2211-ext model. Think of it as a Wifi repeater.

ExpressCasts

It has a high gain antenna to connect to the park wifi. It works very well inside the Airstream.

-Doug
__________________

__________________
cbstreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite Dish doesn't connect cmreumund Computers, Internet & Satellite 24 11-19-2015 06:29 AM
USB Wireless Aircard Router tbro Computers, Internet & Satellite 27 10-12-2010 07:56 PM
Sewer Hose won't connect shermantic Waste Systems, Tanks & Totes 10 02-24-2009 11:07 PM
Desktop/Laptop router, wireless question Kistler Electronics & Connectivity 11 08-17-2007 08:54 PM
Where to connect 12v monitor weevey22 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 5 02-25-2007 09:56 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.