Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-30-2011, 08:13 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
1972 23' Safari
Houston , Texas
The Hum is (was) back

So my 06 Safari SE FB has the basic upgraded Sony in dash DVD system with the cd changer and 4 speakers 2 in front 2 in the BR. Changed out the original Sony LCD for a Vizio 23" Hd with digital tuner. Might add I'm a pro AV guy so I've dealt with this stuff for years in pro and consumer systems. Know most of the tricks in eliminating hum, ground loops, power etc.

So the issue is that sometimes life is good, usually watching a DVD. Sometimes the annoying hum is there in the sound. Sometimes just turning the thing (Sony) off for a minute clears out the hum. Sometimes it's probably dirty power at the CG. I want to think it's cheap consumer electronics that uses a 12v system with a 120 V system on the TV or other intertwined circuits. For the most part it works ok but then there are those times the hum just appears and I don't feel like dealing with it after a long day when all we want to do is watch a movie. So does any body really know the magical answer to this and if so how to solve it so the gremlins don't reappear?
RichHog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 09:30 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
try using the google search. this is one of the threads:
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f450...o-36282-2.html
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 09:55 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 23' Safari SE
San Diego , California
The magic answer for us and others is to adjust the gain or turn off or disconnect the subwoofer (we eventually disconnected the subwoofer since the 4 other speakers do just fine and we found the subwoofer to be superfluous!):

Strange noises from the stereo?