Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-20-2019, 10:46 PM   #1
Opinionated newb...

2018 25' Flying Cloud
League City , TX
Speaker die off?

So I discovered my street side speakers (front and back that is) have died. Curbside remain in good service..

I know enough to dread venturing into the rats nest so cleverly secreted behind the secure barriers in the cabinet behind the Clarion. [emoji33]

But! Should I be going there at all or is there any other place to investigate or issue to consider here my good people?

I was an operator of electronics in the service and not a technical repair type... concepts and theory I can follow but no hands on fixing or tinkering here...

No other indicators of malfunction or sound issues, fade and balance are set to center, but front and back Clarion speakers are mute on the street side.

2018 FC, I welcome all advice or suggestions before I begin ineptly tinkering and monkeying with that which I know little about .. 🤯

Thanks in advance to all!

What a man does for pay is of little significance. What he is, as a sensitive instrument responsive to the world's beauty, is everything! H. P. Lovecraft
wave man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 05:32 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Start with I have a 2012 25FB. I have replace my stereo head and speakers so I have pulled mine apart. If yours is built the same, remove the radio/stereo head and there will be a rat's nest of wires there. You have a R or L problem, which could be a defect head unit, but you can access the wiring with the unit pulled out. Reverse the wiring and see if the problem moves to the other side or some connections may be bad. Either way, you will be able to determine whether the problem is with your head unit or with the wiring to the speakers.

Larry
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote