Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electronics & Connectivity > Audio, Video & TV
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-20-2015, 11:19 AM   #1

2006 28' Safari SE
Austin , Texas
Sony Audio Receiver/CD Player in '06 Safari resets periodically

Hi all! Newbie here and enjoying all the great content! I have a 2006 Safari that is permanently(?) setup on a vacation property connected to ground power/water/sewage, etc.

All electrical seems to work fine except for the audio receiver which will turn off after about 3 minutes. It will then maybe turn back on and maybe not. I've been playing audio via an RCA cable from my iPhone but it seems to do the same thing playing CD's or radio.

Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
BRS-Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 12:03 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 25' Classic
Full Time , Texas
Check the voltage to the radio with a meter to verify the voltage is correct. Maybe the inline fuse is corroded. Check the ground wire from the radio.

If all looks well, a replacement may be needed. Trouble is Sony now doesn't offer that type of radio with the built in DVD anymore.

Kelvin
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 12:59 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Thankfully the replacement does not have to be a Sony. Mine will do that every once in a while. I figured it was just getting old. I would like to replace it with a newer model with updated features. Been shopping but no decision made, so many to choose from.

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2015, 08:09 AM   #4