Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2010, 08:15 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Zigidachs's Avatar
 
2011 30' Classic
Ridgefield , Washington
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
Images: 1
Roof Mounted Direct TV Dish

Three questions:
1) There is only one TV input for the Classic AS for either the Cable or the Remote satellite dish. is it possible to rewire the As to accept BOTH?
2)What is the best portable dish receiver which is also HD for Direct TV?
3) Can the Direct TV Trav'ler 3005 Sat. dish be mounted on the AS?

Thank you for your help? Zigi
__________________

__________________
Zigidachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 08:32 PM   #2
Rivet Master

 
1986 31' Sovereign
Miami , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,651
Blog Entries: 13
Personally I think a rooftop antenna is a mistake. In 5 years of half-timing I can't even guess at the number of times I've been able to get my Direct TV to work by moving my tripod mounted satellite dish creatively around a given site. On the roof, if you don't have a clear shot at the satellite you are pretty much out of luck unless you move the whole rig.

If you want automated, consider a Vu Cube.

Just my 2 cents

mike
__________________

__________________
n2916s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 09:35 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
F450Harley's Avatar
 
2006 30' Classic
Yonkers , New York
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 269
Images: 44
Yes you can mount the Trav'ler 3005 Sat on Classic roof. It's a matter of choice
__________________
F450Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 11:48 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Mexray's Avatar
 
1978 28' Ambassador
Morada , California
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,583
I mounted one on our 28 ft AS...works great, and was easy to attach, etc...Ray
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	11.09 Campo Pismo [Desktop Resolution].JPG
Views:	163
Size:	159.3 KB
ID:	113647  
__________________
Ray & Pat; Morada, CA
Mexray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:37 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
AIR-Quarius's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Espanola , Full Timer
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,752
Images: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to AIR-Quarius Send a message via Skype™ to AIR-Quarius
Some of the above is right...its better to have it on a tripod on the ground as you never know geographicly where your going to be situated. trees buildings etc. And climbing up on the airstream roof is not an easy deal to adjust and point a dish, plus everybody is going to be staring at you while you are yelling to them down below, 'see anything yet?...
-what about now? ....now?
__________________
http://customrvdecalplus.com
AIR-Quarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:45 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 211
The Winegard 3005 Trav'ler will find the 5 DirecTV satellites when one pushes a button on the control box mounted inside the Airstream. No climbing needed.
__________________
pattonsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 01:35 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
Zigidachs's Avatar
 
2011 30' Classic
Ridgefield , Washington
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
Images: 1
The roof mount is so easy to use ( we have one on our fiver), but i understand the problem in many state campgrounds with more tree covered sites.
But if you stay at a "commercial" RV site, how do you manage the Cable and the Sat inputs. We are spoiled: I watch HD football on Sat, and the co-pilot watches CSI on Cable.
Also with the Vu-Cube I can't find HD capability on Direct TV. Zigi
__________________
Zigidachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 03:51 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 211
Has anyone installed a Winegard 3005 Trav'ler? Did you use the optional mounting plate to spread out the weight? Will the aluminum skin hold the weight if mounted between ribs (no mounting plate)?
__________________
pattonsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 04:01 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
F450Harley's Avatar
 
2006 30' Classic
Yonkers , New York
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 269
Images: 44
pattonsr
PM me your email address and I will send you installation pictures & wiring on a Classic
__________________

__________________
F450Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish vs. Direct TV Diesel Phil Audio, Video & TV 20 12-03-2009 10:10 AM
Pay per View Movies with Direct TV and Dish TV?? FOILED Computers, Internet & Satellite 18 03-05-2009 08:34 PM
Roof mounted spot light Robfike Classic Motorhomes 14 05-12-2008 07:51 PM
Direct TV 5lnb dish henw Computers, Internet & Satellite 1 11-16-2007 07:37 PM
Dish Network vs Direct TV gwsullivan Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 36 01-17-2005 03:49 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.