Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2010, 08:57 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Excella
Currently Looking...
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 191
Need new antenna.

Just got a new TV for my camper and need to get an "outside" antenna.

Please direct me where I can buy one that I can put outside maybe on top of camper while camping or somewhere.

Also, what happens with the old "crank up type" antenna on top of my camper with the knob inside on the ceiling and can it be used for anything ?

Will it be as simple as antenna to cable then cable to tv ?

Thanks........
__________________

__________________
Robbie R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:13 PM   #2
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
r u SURE there isn't already one of these up on the roof?

every a/s built in the last 30+ years has one (or the older style) antenna, that is....

http://www.winegard.com/kbase/upload/2452013.pdf

Upgrade your Sensar Antenna with Wingman for Optimum DTV Performance - Winegard

typically ALL 'streams also have a some signal 'booster' mounted in the wall near the coaxial connector AND 12v outlet.

cheers
2air'
__________________

__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:26 PM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Excella
Currently Looking...
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 191
There is one of those but I was not sure if it was for HDTV digital cable or the old signals.

If it will work for the new digital signals then I will just use it.

Thanks.
__________________
Robbie R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 09:29 PM   #4
_
 
. , .
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8,812
yes it works with digitally transmitted signals...

however they DO sell a small gadget to "upgrade" the reception...

the "wingman" clip on linked in the 2nd link supposedly pulls in a few more stations in the uhf channel zone...

i've had NO problems using the standard batwing.

HD is dependent on the broadcast and tv capability , not the batwing.

cheers
2air'
__________________
all of the true things that i am about to tell you are shameless lies. l.b.j.

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:01 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Ahab's Avatar
 
2008 22' Safari
Oracle , Arizona
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie R. View Post
There is one of those but I was not sure if it was for HDTV digital cable or the old signals.

If it will work for the new digital signals then I will just use it.

Thanks.
Ours works just fine. Tried the "Wingman" but it doesn't seem to improve anything.
__________________
Ahab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:06 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 31' Excella
Currently Looking...
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 191
Thanks everyone. Do I need a box or anything in between the TV and the antenna or just plug it in ?
__________________
Robbie R. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 09:28 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,773
Images: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie R. View Post
Thanks everyone. Do I need a box or anything in between the TV and the antenna or just plug it in ?
I assume that you have the round coax connector from the wall to connect to your TV in an Airstream that new. Just connect it to your new TV and you are good to go. The antenna does not care whether it is getting digital or analog, it collects it and passes it on just fine.
__________________
Vaughan
vswingfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 10:52 AM   #8
Don't forget your cat nap
 
Ag&Au's Avatar
 
Port Orchard , Washington
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4,464
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie R. View Post
Thanks everyone. Do I need a box or anything in between the TV and the antenna or just plug it in ?
Depending on how old the TV is (more than a few years old), it may require a digital converter box. If it was mine and was old enough to require a digital converter box, I would replace it with a new one.
Regards,
Ken
__________________

__________________
Ag&Au is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is it: Antenna and? bmklawt Audio, Video & TV 3 12-19-2008 12:32 AM
FM antenna Phil Gobie Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 12-24-2006 12:28 PM
Which TV antenna? Ohanastar Audio, Video & TV 2 09-05-2005 01:58 PM
Antenna silverlassie Audio, Video & TV 19 05-01-2004 02:02 PM
TV antenna davidz71 Audio, Video & TV 14 03-14-2003 09:14 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.