Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electronics & Connectivity > Audio, Video & TV
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-02-2018, 11:31 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2001 31' Excella
Bradenton , FL
How to install TV with swivel/articulating - not on wall

Hello,
I recently purchased a 2001 Excella and would like to upgrade the TV with a swivel/articulating mount. As a newbie, I'd appreciate any thoughts about the best way to mount this. Most mounts I see are wall mounts and it seems that I should avoid an exterior wall mount. I haven't purchased the TV yet so I'm open to options.
It would be on the cabinetry that has a lamp on it in the first photo. The 2nd photo shows what is in the base. Many thanks for any advice you may have.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180226_133232.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	138.2 KB
ID:	305298   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_6457.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	221.3 KB
ID:	305299  

janerivinius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 12:12 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2002 30' Classic S/O
Fleming Island , Florida
I deleted my previous post as I realized it wasn't responsive to your question.

I concur with your reluctance to use a wall mount on an outside wall. The only way that might work is if there is a fortuitously placed vertical rib in the structure. If there were, I would probably mount a piece of finished oak, like a plaque base, predominantly to the rib but also to the inside skin using Rivnuts and then mount the wall mount to that. I would add a nylon strap with parachute buckles to secure the TV for travel.

As an alternative, you might use the combination of a turntable like this:
https://www.amazon.com/Aleratec-Swiv...YQ86MV8SRXX6NY