Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2019, 02:46 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Woodside , California
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 16
How to avoid repeated reset of audio system

My 2014 FC has the Sony sound system which I don't particularly like because the nobs and controls are difficult to use and often unresponsive. I've tried to master it so I can program various things like Don't Display Demo, memorized stations, etc. But every time I disconnect the AS batteries for service (trickle charge, clean posts, etc), the SONY seems to "forget" these settings and I have to program again. Am I missing something? Yes, I do need to be smarter than a radio. Just wish there was a way to retain the settings or keep power going to the SONY. Please help this old guy. If there's a better unit, please give specifics.

Thanks.
__________________

ghanesdvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 02:56 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
waninae39's Avatar

 
2017 22' Sport
NCR , Ontario
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,273
the same issue with our JVC player
maybe none of them have a super CAPs to store stations and setting (;
__________________

waninae39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 07:29 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
KK4YZ's Avatar
 
2017 23' Flying Cloud
Hiawassee , Georgia
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by waninae39 View Post
the same issue with our JVC player
maybe none of them have a super CAPs to store stations and setting (;
I think most of the automotive type stereos will lose setup/stations when you disconnect from 12VDC. There might be exceptions. After all, computers use a
Small battery to maintain setup info.

Check around and see if anyone makes a model like that. In my opinion any replacement for the sound system in the AS is an upgrade.
KK4YZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 07:36 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghanesdvm View Post
Am I missing something?
No.
Remember all those "parasitic" draws we all devise battery disconnects to stop? This is one of them. So in your case, the small draw on the battery is keeping the radio memory.
Now, is there a better radio that doesn't require a battery connection for memory. I'll say a qualified "yes". I'm sure there's one with a battery in the circuit board (like your computer uses), or some method of storing the presets in memory not requiring power.
But, someone will have to jump in. It's not something that the manufacturer will brag about in their ads.

However, I did a bit of Googling and found this:
It's a cigarette lighter plug with a 9v. battery on the other end. Something to keep power on the circuit.
https://www.amazon.com/APSG-OBD11-Ba...WFA5Q5RVT6FE3C
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	71Sq-GT81RL._SL1500_.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	341567  
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:22 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 10,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghanesdvm View Post
My 2014 FC has the Sony sound system . . .
. . .
. . . Just wish there was a way to retain the settings or keep power going to the SONY. Please help this old guy. If there's a better unit, please give specifics.

Thanks.
Same 2014 FC20 here, but with a Pioneer unit . . . same problem. Bob [CruzinDux] has your radio as I recall. [see his posts in threads linked below]

The late idroba posted on these lamentable parasitic electrical draws, and coined the phrase "disco light show" for the Pioneer face plate, which not only draws a lot of juice, but is also very annoying at night [even if the upper cabinet door is closed!] He installed a manual on/off switch in the upper cabinet as I recall.

[click on orange arrows to go to these other posts/threads]
Quote:
Originally Posted by idroba View Post
I have the same damn radio.
. . .
Quote:
Originally Posted by idroba View Post
Yes, every time power is totally removed from the radio, it reverts to it's disco ball flashing lights demonstration mode and there seems to be no way to change that. So, each time you use the Use/Store switch with no 120 volt power you have to re set the radio to stop it's flashing lights. And of course remember how to do that.

I am not near my FC 20 now, so I can't tell you how to stop it, each time I have to look and fiddle to make it shut down the lights. It is a truly stupid design. BTW, mine is behind a cabinet door and you can't see the lights, so it is very very easy to cycle the use/store switch for some reason (or just brush against it) and not realize the lights are on, taking almost a full amp to run them (and run the battery down). To prevent that from happening by accident, I would up putting a second positive off switch on the radio 12 volt input line. I only turn it on with that switch so it can't go into an unseen disco dance mode very easily now.
In our FC20 we manually remove the radio's face plate, and then have to re-program the pre-sets. If we used the trailer more, a new radio would be much easier. The on/off manual switch is still a good idea IMO. We also bring a small portable radio for local AM/FM reception, so we avoid using the AS battery power entirely.

Good luck,

Peter

PS -- Rest in Peace, idroba. Thank you for years of gentle expert advice.

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f161...ba-150067.html

OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:48 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar
 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,400
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTRA15 View Post
We also bring a small portable radio for local AM/FM reception, so we avoid using the AS battery power entirely.
Really? Tell me more.
I like a radio on in the bedroom at night. So I bought a nice AM/FM portable Sangean. However, reception is terrible, and I chalked it up to being in a Faraday cage, surrounded by metal.
Short of an external antenna, have you found a solution?
My radio has a single screw marked "Antenna". But it's never mentioned in the manual. I assume I'd attach a long wire and throw it out the window.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:51 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 10,412
If the radio can "see" the radio station's broadcast antenna through a window, it works better. We have the same single place to attach an antenna, and Radio Shack used to sell them. [I remember having some as a kid.] For now, local stations come in fine. There are probably some posts here about external antennas like this for radios . . . I will look later.

Peter

PS -- edit -- some of these search results look promising.

https://www.google.com/search?q=radi...=airforums.com
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 04:42 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
1987 34.5' Airstream 345
Auckland , New Zealand
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 85
Most cars since 2000 are equipped with ECU computers to make our maintance free lives well " simple" your radio is expecting to be part off that grand plan. On the other side my 1987 AS 345 has a Sony Radio that when I turn it off it does just that till I decide otherwise then everything is as befor.
My X car went into Super Lock Down because it could and just felt like it, doors, windows, engine, steering exept the side lights flashed just too finish off the battery for good measure. Took some spotty faced kid to program that logic in the first place then it took us a week to satisfy The Great One "ECU" to get it too move again.
I'm sure there is a leason here but I fear its going to get much worse. I'm starting to get startled by reading some new model issues here on airforums!
So I dont think you kow how lucky you are to have such a puny problem to solve.
Regarding arials in our Mobile Faraday Cages I bought a Tiviola Model One Radio built in the US designed by a Dutchman in the old style n function off valve radios but all solid state 110v 12v. Drilled a 6mm hole in floor fed through a 50 ohm Coax cable attatched it to a 50ft long wire through a pulley n weight, a dog bone at each end to two trees (optional) can pull in BBC World Service Local small AM stations SW aswell, very clearly but dosnt seem to help FM thoe.
Rus
Voltair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 07:48 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Tracktown USA , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTRA15 View Post
Same 2014 FC20 here, but with a Pioneer unit . . . same problem. Bob [CruzinDux] has your radio as I recall. [see his posts in threads linked below]

The late idroba posted on these lamentable parasitic electrical draws, and coined the phrase "disco light show" for the Pioneer face plate, which not only draws a lot of juice, but is also very annoying at night [even if the upper cabinet door is closed!] He installed a manual on/off switch in the upper cabinet as I recall.

[click on orange arrows to go to these other posts/threads]

In our FC20 we manually remove the radio's face plate, and then have to re-program the pre-sets. If we used the trailer more, a new radio would be much easier. The on/off manual switch is still a good idea IMO. We also bring a small portable radio for local AM/FM reception, so we avoid using the AS battery power entirely.

Good luck,

Peter

PS -- Rest in Peace, idroba. Thank you for years of gentle expert advice.

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f161...ba-150067.html


Peter thanks, I do not remember seeing his picture. I was thinking of him today as I'm starting the route planning on our ME trip. We will be going thru ID and could not remember where he lived and wanted to pay my respects and leave a prayer. RIP idroba. You will not be forgotten.


Thanks too for the middle link as I have been meaning to call Dave & Nancy. excerpted in idroba's post.



As for the light show, I used to turn the use off when the batts were topped off and on SP. but then I read doug's post #5 (Dkottum) http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449...on-148837.html


I have not been able to verify what he said but it makes sense to me. If true it makes no sense to use the store switch as long as you are on SP AND using 12V. The on/off approach makes sense if you're boondocking so you can at least control/turn off 1 of the three likley P-Draws. In our unit propane det and sub-woofer being the other two.


I thought about the switch when swapping the blue ray for the Walley, but saw the birds nest and said no way I'm touching that nest behind the radio. Not a big deal anymore, as 1) I keep it in use, presets are worthless as they and pretty location based 3) the override is simple and lasts until the batts get pulled.


Here is my Sony quick ref notes for often used...light show and USB for music


To program the stereo to “Demo ~ OFF”…meaning no light show or commercial.
1. Press and hold (for a few seconds) the MW (multi-way) encoder (big Button). Apparently no secret handshake required.
2. PUSH the MW Encoder UP/DOWN to select the desired menu item (of which Demo is one of many options), then push right to setting
3. Push the MW Encoder up/down to select the setting (off in the case of Demo), then press it (the MW Encoder) to switch to ON or OFF
4. Press the MODE (return icon) button twice to return to the normal reception/play mode.


USB flash drive or MP3
1) Insert external USB flash drive or MP3
2) Press SOURCE/OFF repeatedly until USB appears and then press MODE (return icon) to switch to the USB device (External or Internal)
3) Press Q (blue button) to switch to ALBUMS OR FOLDERS
4) PUSH MW (Multi-Way) Encoder UP/Down to scroll thru and select the category) ALBUMS OR FOLDERS etc.
5) Press MW Encoder to “save” ALBUMS OR FOLDERS. It should start to play
CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 03:12 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 10,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Voltair View Post
. . .
. . . Drilled a 6mm hole in floor fed through a 50 ohm Coax cable attatched it to a 50ft long wire through a pulley n weight, a dog bone at each end to two trees (optional) can pull in BBC World Service Local small AM stations SW aswell, very clearly but dosnt seem to help FM thoe.
Rus
Thanks, Rus, good to know about this option. We have been considering getting a good international-band radio.

Peter
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 03:19 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 10,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruizinDux View Post
. . .
. . . the override is simple and lasts until the batts get pulled . . .
. . .
Wish our Pioneer were just as easy, to defeat the "disco light show" after each battery "Store" excursion.



As mentioned, we are looking at getting a really good [$$$] portable international-band radio, and moving into more of a KISS zone for entertainment. Maybe downgrading the cell phones into the same zone?

Happy trails . . . hope your trip south was great!

Peter
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 09:17 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
CruizinDux's Avatar

 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Tracktown USA , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTRA15 View Post
Wish our Pioneer were just as easy, to defeat the "disco light show" after each battery "Store" excursion.

Peter
That's just it. Based on Doug 's post, while otr, we stay in use.
Bob

PS, trip s...Paso is always a good trip. Thx. Hope you enjoyed HH. It looks like a great beach!
CruizinDux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 02:08 AM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
1987 34.5' Airstream 345
Auckland , New Zealand
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 85
Hopefully Ghansddve radio has been remedied by some helpfull inf above eg CD.
Peter , regarding International Recievers I have only just started but I sat down and asked myself what was or wasn't wanted. I don't want to listen to a couple ol roosters crowing across the distant airways, or manually swing on a knob hour after hour, so something that can scan, something you can programe a time table off transmission scheduals that come on automaticly, something that dosn't require tracking down rare replacment valve's or dried up capacitors. So old is out! I did test a SDR Software Defined Radio USB device that uses your Laptop to behave like a full Ham radio. They have the luxury of the screen to give you a waterfall display off all the signals out there. Nice but my Quad core 64 bit machine ended generating a lot off heat, so maybe not such a practical solution. Although there are hardware SDR's that do the heavy lifting but tend to be $300 - $2000.
So here is the thing that worked for me DRM Digital Radio Monodiale a European thing I have heard samples Luxomberg/ Austria/ DW you hear shortwave but not as you know it, but as HiFi mono clean and clear.its bounced around the word in the usual maner , in a packeted form, gets picked up by your DRM complient radio and decodes the signal! So to date on the lookout for a simple solid state DRM/SW RADIO.
The arial and arial tuner is more than half off it I have started with that sofar.
You mayhave known most off the above but I' m learning, hopefully not the hard way can an is expensive...
Rus
Voltair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 08:20 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 10,412
Thanks Rus for the details . . . which are unfortunately beyond my knowledge base.

Will probably will go with an off-the-shelf unit like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Sangean-ATS-9...gateway&sr=8-6

. . . with an external antenna as discussed before.

Any insights on Sangean vs. Crane radios like this?
________________________________________________

Bob, are you going to start a new thread for the trip planning? Had a couple of ideas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CruizinDux View Post
Peter thanks, I do not remember seeing his picture. I was thinking of him today as I'm starting the route planning on our ME trip.
. . .
________________________________________________

Thanks guys,

Peter
__________________

OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Repeated Water Heater Failures on 2018 FC 23FB cmonnette 2016 - Current Flying Cloud 45 07-19-2018 10:05 AM
Repeated Dometic A/C failures California27 Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 23 09-06-2017 09:56 PM
Home Audio System in 82' Excella weevey22 Audio, Video & TV 7 02-20-2007 07:49 AM
Troubleshooting car audio system wiring? davida Audio, Video & TV 3 10-25-2006 09:13 AM
Repairing The Audio System Rodger with a D Audio, Video & TV 1 07-20-2004 10:11 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.