Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2007, 03:55 PM   #29
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pick's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
High Springs , Florida
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,310
Images: 36
Send a message via AIM to Pick
I hate to say this, but I was once a "cable guy". That being said, you would not believe that most of them do not even have a rudimentary knowledge of electronics or RF theory. That is why most cable companies have such bad reputations in customer service. It takes a good amount of technical know how to keep a cable system in good repair, but most CATV companies are not willing to invest in good technicians. Quantity, not quality is their mantra.
__________________

__________________
ARS WA8ZYT
2003 GMC 2500HD 4X4 D/A Ext. Cab
Propane Powered Honda EU2000i
Lots of Hot Sauce!
Air # 283
WBCCI 1350
Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 05:35 PM   #30
Rivet Master
 
FreshAir's Avatar

 
1966 24' Tradewind
Placerville , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,327
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 47WeeWind
If you want to produce a scrunched-up puzzled look on a young clerk's face at most electronics stores, ask for a roll of "twin lead". That's the name for the old flat two lead outdoor antenna wire. You'll likely be directed to the manager, who may remember it and can explain it to those born in the cable or digital wireless age. My closest Radio Shack no longer carries twin lead, but I did buy a connector for mounting on the Braund antenna that joins twin lead to coax.
I have some 'new' twin lead cable in my garage from the last century. If I went with that to complete the vintage look don't I have to use the cable stand-offs? I remember installing Tv antennas on my roof and using the screw end eyes with the insulation to carry the 'twin lead' away from antenna poles, roofs and house exterior walls.

Neil and Lynn.
__________________

__________________
Neil and Lynn Holman
FreshAir #12407

Avatar;
Kirk Creek, Big Sur, Ca. coast.

1966 Trade Wind

1971 Buick Centurion convertible
455 cid

1969 Oldsmobile Ninety Eight
455 cid
FreshAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 06:33 PM   #31
Got gandkids?
 
Jim & Susan's Avatar

 
1973 27' Overlander
'Possum Holler , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,406
Images: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by overlander63
...... Even though it means the cable guy that told me this is an idiot...
I almost blew Coke on the monitor when I read that. Yep, we have a lot of, uh, technically challenged individuals at the cable company. SO the cat's out of the bag, I'm a cable guy. BUT, notice how loudly I say this part, I DON'T HOOK UP STUFF TO PEOPLE'S HOUSES. I work on the back-bone equipment (fiber optics, muliplexers, decoders, routers, VOIP, etc). That's why I had to ask a lot of questions about how to do this stuff. And both you and Pick are correct, the guys they hire to come out to your house (for the most part) are entry level folks. Most of what they know about the technology behind what they are doing is what they learn if a few weeks of class scattered over the first months of employment.

Jim
__________________
www.nesa.org

Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 07:30 PM   #32
Liberator
 
klattu's Avatar
 
1972 Argosy 24
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Heart of Dixie , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,646
Images: 834
Turn On & Tune In

We replaced all the crt TVs with flats.
They work perfectly with any current antenna system you have.
The amp types are better, but no HDTV special antennas are needed.

Just to add...
The flat pancake antenna is junk!
Does not pick-up worth a bare wire.

The main thing you have to get, or to look for included with TV is,
A built in "HDTV tuner"...that is different than the "HDTV ready types"
They have very deceptive marketing going on right now as not all TVs will pick up HDTV signals.
Just remember, it MUST say...
Built in HDTV Tuner
Or you will have to get a separte HDTV tuner, about $100, but not the way to go unless you have spent big bucks on a widescreen without a tuner.

OH...go ahead a get a widescreen if your buying...most HDTV programs are in widescreen.

I mounted a small one in rear bedroom in the curve of the ceiling.
Never have to move or set up.
Perfect for falling asleep watching...




This is the front one...
It slides behind drivers seat while underway...



And set up...

__________________
klattu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 09:08 PM   #33
Moderator
 
HiHoAgRV's Avatar

 
1991 34' Excella
1963 26' Overlander
1961 26' Overlander
Central , Mississippi
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,329
Images: 29
Blog Entries: 49
Way to cool. Love the B&W layout, we did that in a Houseboat years ago.
__________________
Hi Ho Silver RV! Vernon, Sarah, Mac the Border Collie -
A honkin' long 34' named AlumaTherapy http://www.airforums.com/forums/f205...num-54749.html
and a 26' '63 Overlander, Dolly http://www.airforums.com/forums/f109...ome-71609.html
HiHoAgRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 08:38 AM   #34
Rivet Master
 
Zeppelinium's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1973 27' Overlander
1977 23' Safari
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,908
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim & Susan
Everybody probably knows that in these older model Airstreams, the cable from the antenna runs from the back of the antenna, through a hole in the roof, down the side of the camper to a small “amplifier”...
"Amplifier?" All I found in the Sovereign was a balun type splitter in the connector outlet box for splitting the signal back to a rear bedroom connector box. I'm still trying to figure out where the splitter is that feeds the FM radio cable. I only opened the interior skins enough to replace the vista view windows, so I couldn't do a thorough search. What does this little amplifier box look like?

Zep
Zeppelinium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 10:22 AM   #35
Liberator
 
klattu's Avatar
 
1972 Argosy 24
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
Heart of Dixie , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,646
Images: 834
My amp is in the cover for the cable attachment.
A bunch of bare electronics with a led indicating amp is on.

Looks like a wall plug cover...kinda
__________________
klattu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:52 AM   #36
Got gandkids?
 
Jim & Susan's Avatar

 
1973 27' Overlander
'Possum Holler , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,406
Images: 39
Zep, I'll get a pic for you tonight.

Jim
__________________
www.nesa.org

Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 07:44 PM   #37
Got gandkids?
 
Jim & Susan's Avatar

 
1973 27' Overlander
'Possum Holler , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,406
Images: 39
Hey Zep, I forgot to post this for you. Here's that little Braund Amp I mentioned before. I've got a few more pic's someplace if you need 'em.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Antenna Amp 1.JPG
Views:	80
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	43175   Click image for larger version

Name:	Antenna Amp 2.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	74.5 KB
ID:	43176  

__________________
www.nesa.org

Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 08:20 PM   #38
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,773
Images: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim & Susan
Hey Zep, I forgot to post this for you. Here's that little Braund Amp I mentioned before. I've got a few more pic's someplace if you need 'em.
Hi Jim,

I have that little Doohickey in my Excella. It switches the 300-ohm back to 75 for the old style flat twin lead that plugs into the two-hole “snakebite” socket. What an antique!

I had two AC powered amplifiers in series. Tossed them out and replaced with a more powerful single one.

Vaughan
__________________
vswingfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 08:26 PM   #39
Got gandkids?
 
Jim & Susan's Avatar

 
1973 27' Overlander
'Possum Holler , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,406
Images: 39
Hummm, so its a 35 year old matching transformer? I just assumed it was a signal booster of some kind because it was actually powered by 12v pos & neg feeding off the cig lighter connection. Ya live and ya learn.

Jim
__________________
www.nesa.org

Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 09:09 PM   #40
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,773
Images: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim & Susan
Hummm, so its a 35 year old matching transformer? I just assumed it was a signal booster of some kind because it was actually powered by 12v pos & neg feeding off the cig lighter connection. Ya live and ya learn.

Jim
Somewhere in the Excella I have the “snakebite fang” plug attached to some flatlead. Don’t hold your breath for pics, though. God knows where it is. I’m sure I kept it because “They are hard to find and someone might need it.” I looked for it just now and don’t have a clue where it is. I did find a roll of paper towels that I didn’t know I had, though.

I drilled a hole between the “snakebite” socket and the 12v lighter socket and put a 300-ohm bulkhead fitting, eliminating the need for it.

Vaughan
__________________
vswingfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 08:50 AM   #41
Rivet Master
 
Zeppelinium's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1973 27' Overlander
1977 23' Safari
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,908
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim & Susan
Hey Zep, I forgot to post this for you. Here's that little Braund Amp I mentioned before. I've got a few more pic's someplace if you need 'em.
Thanks for the research. I am now totally confused. Either I didn't look very closely or mine is "different", but I don't see the 12V going to the "amp." On mine it looks like the cigarette lighter wires are completely separate from what I think is merely a balun matching transformer.

I'd be pretty amazed if there were any active components on that board. I'm thinking mid-1970s, a world where UHF channels were starting to be common but many TVs still had to use a set-top converter. I guess those little boxes were solid-state, even though only a few years before you could't do even 144 mHz with a transistor, you had to use a tiny tube called a Nuvistor, which required B+, grid bias voltage, and filament supply. As you can surmise, I'm still skeptical.

Do you actually see transistors and resistors on your amplifier? And maybe a capacitor or two? Without these components, it can't be an active device.

Zep
Zeppelinium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 10:24 AM   #42
Got gandkids?
 
Jim & Susan's Avatar

 
1973 27' Overlander
'Possum Holler , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,406
Images: 39
There are definately transistors on the circuit board. I've got a picture on the other computer of how it was originally wired. I'll try to post it tonight.

JIm
__________________

__________________
www.nesa.org

Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.