Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2014, 04:50 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Different signal on front TV and bedroom TV

We have a 2008 27FB with 2 TV's, I cannot get a cable signal in the bedroom even if there is a signal in the kitchen and vice versa I cannot get a air signal in the Kitchen even if I have a signal in the bedroom. Perhaps it is a splitter problem?? does anyone know where the coaxial splitter is located?

For now when we travel we use the antenna for the bedroom and cable hookup for the kitchen, something is amiss.
__________________

__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 04:57 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
I should mention I installed the TV in the bedroom, I did match up the mount with the same company as the kitchen mount and I installed a the same make TV in the bedroom also, so maybe not being a factory install something in the coaxial connection is different?
__________________

__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 07:43 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
The coax splitter is usually behind the wall plate that has the antenna booster. One coax goes from the antenna to the antenna input on the booster, one goes from the cable input to the booster. Then there is an output from the booster that should go to the splitter and from there to the two tv's. Sounds like something may be hooked up incorrectly.
__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 08:10 PM   #4
Figment of My Imagination
 
Protagonist's Avatar
 
2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10,316
Input from the antenna or cable is ALL of the channels, all of the time. You don't pick WHICH channel until you get to the channel selector in the television or recorder.

Without actually seeing the setup, I can only think of two reasons why your setup could be working (not working) the way it is:
1 - You have an A/B switch instead of a splitter, so selecting one television turns off the signal to the other. But if that was the case, you'd have to manually select the A circuit or B circuit, and I'm sure you would know if you're doing that.
2 - You have a weak signal coming into the splitter, so it's even weaker coming out. But if that was the case, it's more likely that when you turned on the second television you'd lose signal to both because the signal is stupid; it can't pick which television it prefers, and the signal would be split equally between them when both televisions are on.

I'm sure there are other reasons; those are just the only ones I can think of. Which probably means I'm just as stupid as the electricity is.
__________________
WBCCI #1105
TAC LA-4

My Google-Fu is strong today.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 09:12 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,322
I'm with Dave

It seems likely that someone has changed the connections at the switch/preamp/splitter. It is a small circuit board behind the coax connection where the push button is that turns on the power to the preamp. As Dave said, the coax from the antenna and the coax from the outside cable jack come to the board and the output from the board goes to the splitter. If you want to watch antenna TV push the button so the LED is on. If you want to watch cable, pus the button so the LED is off.

Just in case you don't know, each time you change from one to the other you have to do another channel search on the TVs. You do have new TVs with digital tuners, don't you?

Al
__________________

"You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"

Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO
2002 Classic 30 Slideout
S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
2001 Safari 25 RB Twin (Gone, but not forgotten)
WBCCI 1322, TAC FL-39, AIR 82265

Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:23 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Yes, both TV's are digital. It sounds to me like the splitter isn't working correctly, almost like the antenna feed is for the bedroom and the cable feed is for the kitchen, although the amplifier affects both signals??? so certainly both signals go through the amplifier.
__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 11:50 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
steverino's Avatar
 
2010 27' FB Flying Cloud
Ivins , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 276
Images: 3
Just to check, Bugman - your unit does have the antenna preamp? there should be a wall plate behind the TV in the living area - it has a small black power button to control the preamp, and a little green LED to indicate the preamp is on. On my unit, the plate also has a 12v socket.

Both the cable input and the antenna are connected to the preamp, which amplifies the signal and splits it to the two outlets. I turn on the preamp when using the antenna, and turn it off when using cable, because the signal strength is higher on cable. Leaving it on when viewing cable usually results in a distorted signal.

If that preamp is missing, the cable input may have just been connected through to the living area, and the antenna connected through to the bedroom. That's one scenario I can think of that would result in your observation.

If the preamp is installed correctly, the other scenario is that for some reason, the TVs have not correctly "learned" the OTA and cable channels. If you have not done so, you need to do the channel searches on both tvs, generally each time you relocate or change from antenna to cable.
steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 12:12 AM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
yes, we do have a pre amp. I am pretty sure it is not a channel memory issue.
__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 11:31 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
So looking behind the faceplate of the tv booster I show a double splitter whereas the owners manual for this trailer show a triple splitter is supposed to be there.
__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 12:32 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Now I see all connections, and it is clear as mud. There are 3 connections on the back of the booster, a cable input, an antenna input and a tv output which is split to tv 1 and tv 2. So with that, why is there a coaxial connection on the front of the face place?
__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 08:19 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
that's for the third tv!
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 12:08 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
Aha, now it makes sense, where does the 3rd line terminate?
__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 04:26 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
my 34 has a counter where a tv could be added. i suppose that it could also be used to test the signal at the amplifier.
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 11:11 AM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 27' Safari FB SE
Delta , BC
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
3 TV's in a 27 seem a little excessive unless the 3rd line is for outside.
__________________

__________________
bugman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'64 Overlander brake and turn signal issues 57BB Lights - Interior & Exterior 4 08-24-2012 11:21 AM
NEWB, Right turn signal and brakes come on?!? steven2themax Brakes & Brake Controllers 11 08-10-2010 01:01 AM
Brake and Turn Signal Problems with Mercedes dougderocker Lights - Interior & Exterior 12 11-09-2008 03:29 PM
Different sized tires front and rear AgPnut Tires 14 09-09-2008 04:23 PM
Different Looks on Different Computers COArgosy78 Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 3 09-20-2003 03:38 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.