Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2010, 09:16 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
2010 16' International
kittery , Maine
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 91
Images: 1
2010 Int'l: Does cable coax go straight thru? or thru amp?

Does the cable TV coax jack (under the dinette) go directly to the outside jack, or does it go through some kind of amp or other device?

I'm running a ham radio rig inside my 2010 Int'l 16' and would like to utilize the cable TV coax and connectors (inside and out) to connect the rig inside to the antenna outside, without having to drill any holes or run new coax.

I understand the cable TV coax is not the right impedance but the antenna is a random length longwire and I'm running an antenna tuner in the ham rig so it shouldn't matter.

When I tested it out, the radio was pretty deaf, which makes me think it's not a simple straight-through connection.

Thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
amm3824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:23 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
steverino's Avatar
 
2010 27' FB Flying Cloud
Ivins , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 276
Images: 3
That's my understanding, from the outside jack, to under the dinette, then to the TV. They loop it under the table so you can cut a satellite receiver in there, and hook the dish to the outside tap.

But I've not ever used it. One way to test would be to hook up cable to the outside, then the TV to one of the terminals under the table. If it works, you've got the right line...

I think the antenna amp is right behind the outlet at the tv.
__________________

__________________
steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:32 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
I don't believe the cable coax line goes through an amplifier, but the regular TV antenna coax does....the reason I think this is because we only get "snow" from a digital or analog TV signal unless the "booster"(which I presume is just an amplifier) is on...that's the little button that lights green when it's on...next to the 12v outlet near the inside port for the antenna coax...at least that's the way it is in our 19'. When using cable we don't use that booster ...
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna, ham radio, cable, coaxial cable


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone else Own a 2010 Int'l?? THEPILL 2006 - 2010 International 36 08-28-2010 12:40 AM
2010 Int'l 25' Battery Maint question. THEPILL Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 7 03-09-2010 08:43 PM
2010 Int'l Fb,,,Spice/Can Rack THEPILL Cabinets, Counter Tops & Furnishings 10 03-02-2010 11:24 PM
Prewired for Solar??? 2010 Int'l THEPILL Generators & Solar Power 0 02-10-2010 05:21 PM
New 50 amp Cable~JUNK Navigator Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 04-28-2004 12:32 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.