Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-02-2003, 09:31 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

purchasing

I am looking at a 1968 overlander. The refrigerator and furnace do not work but are original. I am not too good at taking out appliances etc. Is is more prudent to buy an airstream with working appliances?
Old 01-02-2003, 09:56 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Purchasing

Greetings Jackie!

This is one area where originality isn't necessarily best (IMHO). The main appliances - - furnace, water heater, refrigerator, and air conditioner are all beyond their normal expected service life so any time that they are operable is a bonus but might be considered "borrowed time". I wouldn't suggest, however, that you pass on a coach just because of needed appliance replacements - - if the price can be negotiated to reflect the needed replacements. I have replaced all of the mentioned appliances on my '64 Overlander since purchasing it eight years ago - - or I should say that they have been replaced by Ace Fogdall RV my "nearby" Airstream dealer - - I am a klutz as well when it comes to major appliance repairs. To give you an idea of cost involved:

1.) New Dometic 3-Way RV refrigerator $1,245.00 installed with some minor cabinet modification and running wiring for 12-volt operation which for me was an absolute necessity for me as I refuse to travel with the refrigerator in propane mode.

2.) New Suburban furnace with electronic ignition. The installed price was approximately $575.00.

3.) New water heater (manual pilot ignition). The installed price was approximately $400.00.

4.) New Coleman air conditioner (did not include internal drain pan as they were not available for this model). The installed price was approximately $575.00.