Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2011, 11:37 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Images: 18
Yay! 50 amp Service upgrade - Done

It was a challenge but we successfully upgraded to a 50 amp service with 8 breakers. Took us about 4 hours but we are ready for the 2nd AC; just in time for the temp to drop soon. If anyone needs an airstream 30 amp cable it's available.
__________________

__________________
yve79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 06:17 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Skater's Avatar
 
1995 30' Excella
Bowie , Maryland
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by yve79 View Post
It was a challenge but we successfully upgraded to a 50 amp service with 8 breakers. Took us about 4 hours but we are ready for the 2nd AC; just in time for the temp to drop soon. If anyone needs an airstream 30 amp cable it's available.
I'd add another end and make it an extension cord for those times when I need an extension cord but don't need 50 amp service.

Congratulations on the conversion!
__________________

__________________
1995 Airstream Classic 30' Excella 1000
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab with Cummins 6.7L Diesel

Sold but not forgotten: 1991 Airstream B190
Sold: 2006 F-250 6.0L Powerstroke Supercab
Skater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 10:15 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Images: 18
No clue what your talking about but I will pass the suggestion on to the husband and see what he thinks.

Thanks for the reply!
__________________
yve79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:32 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Images: 18
Diagram for 50 amp conversion.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2202129017.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	372.4 KB
ID:	171300  
__________________
yve79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:37 AM   #5
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
You need to break apart the ground and neutral. As shown in your diagram it is unsafe.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:40 AM   #6
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
I noticed that you tied neutral to ground inside the breaker box. On a 30amp system these two are isolated from each other on separate buses. I think it should be the same on 50amp service also, but I am not an electrical.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:34 AM   #7
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by azflycaster View Post
I noticed that you tied neutral to ground inside the breaker box. On a 30amp system these two are isolated from each other on separate buses. I think it should be the same on 50amp service also, but I am not an electrical.
ABSOLUTELY!!!!

The ground and neutral should be on separate bus bars, NOT tied together for any RV installation. Your installation as posted is a recipe for disaster or worse.

I WOULD CORRECT THIS IMMEDIATELY AND NOT PLUG IN THE TRAILER TO YOUR POWER SOURCE UNTIL IT IS FIXED PROPERLY
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 11:59 AM   #8
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
Also, the plug or receptacle you show is for 30amp 120/240vac, not 50amp service. And if it was the correct recptacle you have the ground and neutral reversed. Please hire an electrician before something bad happens.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:13 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I haven't used a 50 amp service at a campground, but I think you will find that only half of your panel will be hot. Since I believe it is wired thru a single breaker and not a double pole breaker, which is typically how the 240 volt wiring is done in your home.
The neutral and ground should not be connected together. The neutral should not be bonded to the trailer body. Only the ground should be bonded to the trailer body.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:33 PM   #10
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
TG,
Not true. Both legs are hot and feed through a 2 pole breaker.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:38 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Images: 18
If that scares you I guess you shouldn't look ten feet away at your service where the ground and neutral are always tied together. In small electrical boxes they generally are not available with a separate ground and neutral bar. FYI, you're no safer with the ground and neutral (aka a grounded conductor) separated. All your signal lights are using your trailer frame as the ground.
__________________
yve79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:40 PM   #12
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
You don't understand the basics of electrical safety. Please stop before you burn down your trailer.
Also, you should have bought a box with mains breakers, not a mains lug box. You are in way over your head.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:46 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 98
Images: 18
Why would I need two breakers? There is a 50 amp breaker right outside. The original box that I replaced did not have a main breaker either.
__________________
yve79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:51 PM   #14
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
The original box probably had a main breaker, you just didn't notice that it was backfed from the inlet.
__________________

__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 Amp to 15 Amp Adapter to House Power Question Steamboatbob Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 29 04-09-2017 10:43 PM
2008 Airstream Classic 31! 50 Amp Service, 2 AC Units! eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 08-30-2011 09:20 PM
3 Amp Availability gaylejoe WBCCI Forum 27 08-06-2011 04:38 PM
Question on using 50 amp sevice RLS Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 16 02-04-2011 02:14 PM
New Electric Service - YAY!!! or Life is Better When Everything WORKS!!! bugnot1 Winter Living 6 01-23-2011 11:32 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.