Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2008, 06:37 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Wiring Intelipower 9200

Hi all
Need the electricains to chime in here. I researched and read but I don't know how to wire to my new fuse panel, I am attaching fuse panel I bought from Best Converter (they were closed today) and also a diagram of my Univolt fuse panel. If someone could help as I have searched extensively. I understand where the circuits 1,2,3,4 will go but the car and trailer battery, amp meter and amp meter (red only), and trailer battery ground have me a bit flustered.
thanks in advance
James (trying to prepare for Thanksgiving Trip to Garner) Flint
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fuse Panel Web.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	22.3 KB
ID:	71283   Click image for larger version

Name:	Univolt Fuse Panel.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	71284  

__________________

__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 02:27 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Apparently I can't use just the new fuse box so my plan is to pull the fuse box out of the univolt and wire the Intelipower to it. I pulled it and my plan is to simply mount it and run wire from 12v positive from intelipower to post on fuse panel and ground to ground on fuse panel. Then put wires back as they were. If anyone has any advice feel free to let me know.
thanks
Jamse
__________________

__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 02:52 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
boatdoc's Avatar
 
1973 Argosy 26
Norristown , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 644
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flintstones View Post
Apparently I can't use just the new fuse box so my plan is to pull the fuse box out of the univolt and wire the Intelipower to it. I pulled it and my plan is to simply mount it and run wire from 12v positive from intelipower to post on fuse panel and ground to ground on fuse panel. Then put wires back as they were. If anyone has any advice feel free to let me know.
thanks
Jamse
Hi The Fintstones; Be sure to fuse both legs with 50 amp fuse or a circuit breaker. This prevents fires when polarity is accidently reversed. Same goes for shorts to ground. Thanks, "Boatdoc"
__________________
boatdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 03:04 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
bertro's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Groveport , Ohio
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 279
Images: 29
These may help, I dont think the amp meter or the shore power light will work with a new set up. I could be wrong. Robert
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Disconnect 002.JPG
Views:	230
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	71312   Click image for larger version

Name:	fuse1 004.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	63.8 KB
ID:	71313  

Click image for larger version

Name:	fuse1 012.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	52.9 KB
ID:	71314  
__________________
bertro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 03:15 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by boatdoc View Post
Hi The Fintstones; Be sure to fuse both legs with 50 amp fuse or a circuit breaker. This prevents fires when polarity is accidently reversed. Same goes for shorts to ground. Thanks, "Boatdoc"
Thanks for the reply, how do I fuse both legs? Can you explain in simple simon language how to do this. I may have to take to the shop as obviously I'm no electrician. It seemed so easy to do until now.
James
__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:05 PM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Boatdoc
I was thinking, I am installing a GFI 110 plug from shore power to plug the intelipower into, isn't that the same thing?
thanks
Jamse
__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:44 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
bertro's Avatar
 
1971 23' Safari
Groveport , Ohio
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 279
Images: 29
Hello, flintstone, Boatdoc is talking about an inline fuse on the + and - line between the battery terminals and the fuse panel. The pics I posted shows this with the #4 cables. The #8 is fused just for my amp for the sound system.Robert
__________________
bertro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 04:13 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
boatdoc's Avatar
 
1973 Argosy 26
Norristown , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 644
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flintstones View Post
Thanks for the reply, how do I fuse both legs? Can you explain in simple simon language how to do this. I may have to take to the shop as obviously I'm no electrician. It seemed so easy to do until now.
James
Hi James;
Because most fixtures in your AS are grounded through chassis, you need to ensure that the negative side is fused in case someone mistakenly reverses battery polarity [by placing negative cable on positive terminal of the battery, and positive cable on the negative terminal].
In case, the polarity reversal [positive side of the battery will be connected directly to chassis ground which is not fused]. Your chassis then becomes the fuse by melting all wires and eventually starting a fire.

Cut both battery cables and install a 50 Amp bus type fuse or manual reset [not auto reset] circuit breakers in each battery cable. If you have two batteries you will need four fuses. Thanks, "Boatdoc"
__________________
boatdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 04:57 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Done, I think

Well I'm finished with mine, yea!, Here are a few pics. I pulled the fuse panel from the old Univolt as the one I bought from best converter is for 20amp only and I needed two 40 amp circuits for car and trailer battery. Before I installed I hooked up everything to see if all worked and it did. Then I put a wood box together and mounted old fuse panel in it, it will also have a cover to keep moisture out. Ran positive and negative to fuse panel and ran a new positive and negative line to battery in rear compartment. Everything seems to work as it should, let me know if anyone forsees any problems. i had a heck of a time finding the 50amp inline fuses, the place I found them was a car audio store. I installed them but the intellipower has reverse polarity protection but better safe than sorry.
James
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Old Univolt.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	24.6 KB
ID:	71398   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fuse Circuit Test.jpg
Views:	192
Size:	21.1 KB
ID:	71399  

Click image for larger version

Name:	New Fuse Box.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	25.6 KB
ID:	71400   Click image for larger version

Name:	New Intellipower.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	27.0 KB
ID:	71401  

__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 01:44 PM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
1976 24' Argosy 24
Milford , New Jersey
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 283
James, glad to see you worked out your wiring. I was out in the trailer this Sunday wiring the exact setup you purchased in our Argosy. I too ran into a dead end because the fuse panel will accept only 20amp fuses. Today I went to the Auto store and purchased a 50 amp circuit breaker for the battery and a 30 amp for the tow vehicle wire. Should have it together tomorrow night. George.
__________________
Gkiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 06:59 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Gkiesel, good luck.
I was really stressing out because I took it all apart with a trip planned at Thanksgiving. I made it much more difficult that it was. Randy at best converter was very helpful as well as the members here as usual. Looking at the Univolt after I removed it I'm suprised it worked as well as it did other than the boiling issue, it never hummed or kept us awake like we have heard here on forums.
James
__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:07 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
The cart or the horse?

I'm doing the same installation as the above. I have a few questions I would greatly appreciate some advice:

1. Should I wire the Intellipower to the battery and then back to the old univolt fuse panel, or, from the Intellipower to the back of the univolt fuse panel and then to the battery (as the univolt was originally wired)? Does it matter?

2. To keep the power on light I assume I wire the black wire to the + connection on the Intellipower, right?

3. The ground conection on the bottom of the Intellipower is wired to the skin or frame, right?

4. What do I need to do to keep the ammeter function?

5. What do I need to do to keep the battery charge level function?

6. My Intellipower is 45 amps. Do I need to change the Univolot fuse panel fuses from 40 amps to 45 or 50?

7. The Intellipower will fit piggyback on the back of the old Univolt case once the Univolt guts have been removed. Any reason not to do this?


Thanks,
Marshall
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 08:53 AM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lumatic View Post
I'm doing the same installation as the above. I have a few questions I would greatly appreciate some advice:

1. Should I wire the Intellipower to the battery and then back to the old univolt fuse panel, or, from the Intellipower to the back of the univolt fuse panel and then to the battery (as the univolt was originally wired)? Does it matter?

2. To keep the power on light I assume I wire the black wire to the + connection on the Intellipower, right?

3. The ground conection on the bottom of the Intellipower is wired to the skin or frame, right?

4. What do I need to do to keep the ammeter function?

5. What do I need to do to keep the battery charge level function?

6. My Intellipower is 45 amps. Do I need to change the Univolot fuse panel fuses from 40 amps to 45 or 50?

7. The Intellipower will fit piggyback on the back of the old Univolt case once the Univolt guts have been removed. Any reason not to do this?


Thanks,
Marshall

Hi Marshall
Hope this helps but I'm no electrician. . .

1. I wired one hot to battery and the other hot from intelli to fuse panel.

2. I used original fuse panel so not sure, I read somewhere that when you wire the 110v plug, wire the "on" light to a 12v (similar to a calculator charger) and plug into 110, or you could plug a nightlight or similar into 110v.

3. Frame

4. ? used my original fuse panel so not sure

5. same answer as 4

6. No

7. why do this? i'm not sure unless space is limited or makes mounting easier or using original fuse panel?

Good luck
James
__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 07:03 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
Unitellipower

Here it is ready to wire in. Salvaging the Univolt case supports and protects the fuse panel and wiring, still allowing access to the Intellipower.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intellipower 9200 jpancini Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 6 09-06-2008 02:28 PM
Installing an Intellipower 9200 29348 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 16 06-17-2007 10:48 PM
InteliPower wiring Finn Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 9 01-27-2007 06:02 PM
Intelipower wiring help Safari64 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 09-06-2006 03:11 PM
Intellipower 9100 vs 9200 Safari64 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 15 09-05-2006 03:56 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.