Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2012, 01:38 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 26' Argosy 26
Columbia , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 32
Wire size

I know how I want to install the PD 9280 in the Argosy; however, I am not sure that the 6 gauge cable will keep me and mine safe. I have two 6 volt cd2's wired in series with a 4 gauge battery wire. The 6 gauge pushes 37 amps and the 4 gauge pushes, 60 amps, and the 2 gauge 94 amps. Does this mean I have to use the 2 gauge?
__________________

__________________
Michael W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 06:43 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Sphere Guy's Avatar
 
2016 30' Classic
Currently Looking...
Livingston , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 563
Michael, the gauge size needed for a run of wire is determined by the voltage, amperage, type of wire and the length.

Just search "wire size calculator" for the correct wire to run.
__________________

__________________
Sphere Guy
AIR 50601
Sphere Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
mimiandrews's Avatar

 
1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,425
The wire size should be determined by the load, not by the amperage of the converter. Use the amperage of the device you wish to power and the distance from the battery or converter to that unit. Then go to a wire size calculator and find out what you need.

The rated amperage of the converter is just the maximum it's designed to "give." The loads "decide" how much they "take" through their individual wires. Each load device should be labeled with the amperage it needs. Just don't let the total of all of them (that will be on at the same time) exceed the capacity of the converter.
__________________
mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:56 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 26' Argosy 26
Columbia , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 32
Can I install a heavier wire than the load calls for? Say a 4 or 2 gauge cable if my load is determined to be a 6 gauge.
__________________
Michael W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:39 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael W View Post
Can I install a heavier wire than the load calls for? Say a 4 or 2 gauge cable if my load is determined to be a 6 gauge.
Yes. Just like using a larger hose for liquids.

Dave
__________________
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:08 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 26' Argosy 26
Columbia , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 32
Thanks Guys, your advice is very much appreciated.
__________________
Michael W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 12:38 PM   #7
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael W View Post
I know how I want to install the PD 9280 in the Argosy; however, I am not sure that the 6 gauge cable will keep me and mine safe. I have two 6 volt cd2's wired in series with a 4 gauge battery wire. The 6 gauge pushes 37 amps and the 4 gauge pushes, 60 amps, and the 2 gauge 94 amps. Does this mean I have to use the 2 gauge?
The PD9280 has an 80 amp rated output and therefore in theory can produce 80 amps of continuous charging current to the battery. For short runs, 6 gauge cable would be marginal as it would tend to heat somewhat and could overheat depending on the kind of cable (jacketed cable runs hotter than individual wires in open air) and the temperature rating of the insulation. For longer runs the voltage drop would result in poor charging performance in addition to the possible problems with overheating.

If you can keep the cable runs short -- a few feet -- I would recommend 4 gauge. For longer runs use the voltage drop calculator and keep the round trip voltage drop below 0.50 volt at 80 amps, at least if you want the charging current you paid for.
__________________
To learn to see below the surface, you must adjust your altitude
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:58 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Skater's Avatar
 
1995 30' Excella
Bowie , Maryland
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveswenson View Post
Yes. Just like using a larger hose for liquids.
I'll add, "...as long as the wire still fits in the terminals on the converter/panel."
__________________
1995 Airstream Classic 30' Excella 1000
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab with Cummins 6.7L Diesel

Sold but not forgotten: 1991 Airstream B190
Sold: 2006 F-250 6.0L Powerstroke Supercab
Skater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:23 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
daveswenson's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Issaquah , Washington
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skater

I'll add, "...as long as the wire still fits in the terminals on the converter/panel."
Yes. And can make the bends you need.
__________________
Dave

2014 Ram 2500 CTD
Pro Pride
Centramatics
daveswenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:08 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Skater's Avatar
 
1995 30' Excella
Bowie , Maryland
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveswenson View Post
Yes. And can make the bends you need.
...and is a color you like!

Sorry, I couldn't come up with anything good to add this time.
__________________
1995 Airstream Classic 30' Excella 1000
2014 Ram 2500 Crew Cab with Cummins 6.7L Diesel

Sold but not forgotten: 1991 Airstream B190
Sold: 2006 F-250 6.0L Powerstroke Supercab
Skater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:57 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 26' Argosy 26
Columbia , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 32
Well!!! It seems that the 4 gauge neg. from the converter will not fit in the Parallax Fuse Panel. That means the neg bat cable will not fit also. Skater, I did not read your post in time. Well, as all good paramedics say "on to plan B". Some one please advise me if I am wrong. I plan to run the 4 gauge neg from the bat to a 50 amp fuse and drop down to a 6 gauge for the panel ground terminal bus. The 4 gauge from the converter neg. will go to a ground block and be reduced to 6 gauge then to the panel.
__________________

__________________
Michael W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.