Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2017, 06:57 PM   #1
Continents Collide
 
1985 32' Excella
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 122
Where are my 12v fuses?

So. I was about to buy my converter from randy at best converter and he recommended upgrading my fuse box from my original. I have a 1985 excella.

I went back and looked through all my pictures and remembered that in doing my renovation, I had looked for my 12v fuses but never found them. In the midst of doing plumbing, propane and everything else I had forgotten to find them.

So. I need your help.

My 120v is at the back in the overheard storage.

Here is my apparent fuse box at the front under the main windows.

Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-12-17 14.05.24.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	505.0 KB
ID:	285892

Here is the original univolt. Doesn't look like there are any fuses on the unit and no flap to lift up?

Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-11-06 12.25.50-1.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	561.9 KB
ID:	285893

Someone I talked to mentioned maybe the PO did a botch job and took out the fuses?

Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-11-17 19.07.12.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	609.2 KB
ID:	285894

Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
continentsco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:11 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,179
Do you have the owner's manual? This online manual from Airstream may cover your AS -- not sure. Coincidentally we had a 1985 25' back in the 90's!

https://www.airstream.com/wp-content....085c.arc_.pdf

The Electrical System starts on page T-1. [PDF p. 66/80]

On p. T-2, it says the 12-volt circuit breakers automatically reset.

On p. T-3 at the bottom, the diagram indicates that your 12-volt panel is in the front. Those fuses [circuit breakers] are -- IMO -- included in the panel you show in the first photo, and they reset themselves per p. T-2 sentence above. The diagram on p. T-6 shows the amperage for each 12-volt circuit in this panel, and it looks like yours in the first photo.

If the above manual is not the right one, you can check others at the main Airstream site, under the "Service" menu item at the top right, and "Manuals" in the drop down menu.

https://www.airstream.com/

Although this manual refers to a Service Manual regarding electrical problems, I can't find such a document.

Good luck!

Peter
__________________

__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:35 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 6,179
PS -- one other thread on similar panels and idroba [RIP] on replacing the panel, and on resetting circuit breakers FYI:

[click on arrow in quote to go to that thread]
Quote:
Originally Posted by idroba View Post
There probably is no real great reason to replace it. That said, I am not a big fan of automatic reseting circuit breakers as if there is a real dead short, they simply sit there and try to reset, over and over and over until they fail or the power system is compromised. I kinda like fuses, they blow and you know you have an issue. They stay off until the problem is corrected.
__________________
OTRA15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 07:46 PM   #4
Rivet Master

 
1986 31' Sovereign
Miami , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,636
Blog Entries: 13
The two lug aluminum boxes with the black bottoms are auto resetting circuit breakers.

On my 86 Sovereign, I simply removed the old converter, installed the new Progressive Dynamics version. Attached the DC output lines and plugged it in. All there was to it.
__________________
Old (usually dirty) Nissan Titan
Old (enhanced with "male pattern baldness") Sovereign
Young, lovely bride
Goofy dog, dismissive cat
n2916s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:21 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
A W Warn's Avatar
 
2000 25' Safari
1999 34' Excella
Davidson County, NC , Highlands County, FL
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,541
That breaker box looks good to me. I see no reason to change it out. I have the same in my trailers. I have changed out the converter in both trailers and left the same breakers and used the existing wire. Plug and play, easily less than a 30 minute install.
I would not switch to fuses even if there was a problem with the breaker box. If I had to replace the panel mine I would replace it with another breaker box. I have had a few beakers go bad over the years, one or two in 25 years of owning Airstreams.
__________________
Alan
2014 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab 5.3L maximum trailering package (yes, I'm towing the 34')
A W Warn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:29 PM   #6
Continents Collide
 
1985 32' Excella
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by A W Warn View Post
That breaker box looks good to me. I see no reason to change it out. I have the same in my trailers. I have changed out the converter in both trailers and left the same breakers and used the existing wire. Plug and play, easily less than a 30 minute install.
I would not switch to fuses even if there was a problem with the breaker box. If I had to replace the panel mine I would replace it with another breaker box. I have had a few beakers go bad over the years, one or two in 25 years of owning Airstreams.


Awesome. Thanks. Ordering the converter tomorrow!
__________________
continentsco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 11:29 PM   #7
Continents Collide
 
1985 32' Excella
Spring , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by n2916s View Post
The two lug aluminum boxes with the black bottoms are auto resetting circuit breakers.

On my 86 Sovereign, I simply removed the old converter, installed the new Progressive Dynamics version. Attached the DC output lines and plugged it in. All there was to it.


Thank you!
__________________

__________________
continentsco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12v


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuses vs Circuit Breakers for 12v Protection? dbj216 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 19 04-04-2016 01:50 PM
location of 12V breaker fuses GatorDave Jacks, Stabilizers, Lifting and Leveling 8 04-02-2016 01:24 PM
Fuses, what fuses? safariuser Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 8 04-06-2015 06:52 AM
LCD Tv has a 12v converter... Can I use it on 12v? Keyair Audio, Video & TV 6 05-11-2010 04:40 PM
Can I Replace 12v light with AC fixture and still work off 12v M&M CAPECOD Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 07-11-2005 11:58 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.