Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-06-2013, 11:48 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1963 22' Safari
Beaverton , Oregon
what type or size battery to get, newbie, please help

i have gutted my airstream and am starting from nothing on the build. looking for advice on what battery to get size, brand, type of battery do i need to get. i just bought a prog dyn pd245 converter/charger 45amp. all that will be running off 12v will be two fantastic fans, 5 led puck lights and 2 reading lights, and water pump. i am a newbie and looking for advise of what battery to buy?? will be under the bed area in the rear of the airstream and will get a battery box for it.
Theburrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 01:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
The standard battery for Airstreams is a group 27 deep cycle. That being said, there are many upgrades available, but the thing I would suggest is to not buy a new battery until you have everything else done and you're ready to go camping. Any old battery, even used, will work just fine for testing circuits while your interior is under construction.
Old 01-06-2013, 01:42 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
I would put in a deep cycle battery(s) that will give you at least 200 amp hours. That should be good enough to run your 12v system and a furnace for the weekend with the fridge running of propane.

That being said here are some other considerations:
-how long will you be away from shore power
-will you be using a generator(s)
-how much boondocking will you be doing
-will you have any solar power
Old 01-06-2013, 02:12 PM   #4
Sbb
begorragirl

2017 25' Flying Cloud
Denville , New Jersey