Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-16-2011, 11:14 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2009 27' FB International
Los Angeles , California
Updates on surge protectors?

I have been looking at past threads on surge protectors and whether they are worth the money or not. These past threads appear to be at least 5 years old (but I could be wrong). Opinions were split but many felt they were a wast of money that could be better spent somewhere else. Is this still the case or has the technology / systems in recent AS TTs no benefit from a good quality (expensive?) surge protection device? I am leaning towards purchasing one, but being a rookie, I thought I should ask the experts first.
WBCCI #1215
Air #54601

Remember... No matter where you go, there you are...

2009 27FB International Ocean Breeze
2010 Toyota Tundra CrewMax, 5.7L V8, 4x4
Scott J-24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 11:22 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Santa Fe , New Mexico
I won't claim to be an expert but I bought one based on common sense. You've got a 2009 27' International that probably cost, what, $70,000. A high end surge protector can be used to protect on the converter, inverter and other wiring. I bought a high end model (I can't remember the name) but it shuts off power to the trailer not just in case of high voltage but also if volts drops below 90 or something. It does other checks like for polarity and others. I think you want that wide ranging protection because you never know where you'll be staying and what the RV park screwed up. Bottom line to me: it is very cheap protection compared to your initial investment. There are various brands. Mine cost $280.
mistermcfrug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 11:38 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2012 30' International
Scott AFB , Illinois