Old 02-15-2008, 08:55 AM   #1
TSHEP

1978 25' Tradewind
1973 29' Ambassador
Woodlawn , Tennessee
Univolt Replacement

I have a 1973 29 ft Ambassador that I am replacing the Univolt with a 9200 Inteli-Power and new fues box. The old Univolt is under the stove just above the battery box. This is where all of the cables/wires come out of the floor and wall. Is this the normal place for the Univolt? I plan to build a platform for the Inteli-Power and fuse box. I have a bunch of wires to reconnect.
Thanks for any advice.
TShep

Old 02-15-2008, 09:04 AM   #2
Well Preserved

1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
The normal place for the univolt is basically wherever Airstream decided to put it in a particular model. If yours is directly above the battery box, that's great. That will mean less large wires to go to the battery. When you take the Univolt out, don't throw it away until you remove the fuse panel, you will need it for the new unit. If you don't have a switch for the converter, it would be a good idea to wire one in so you can turn it off at will.

Old 02-15-2008, 09:32 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1975 31' Sovereign
1973 27' Overlander
1977 23' Safari
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
Battery wire guage

When you wire the batteries, do not fall for the common falicy that the wire has to look like starter wires in a car. A starter motor can draw 700 amps--you will never draw that under any circumstance in a trailer. You can fuse your batteries at 25 or 40 amps, depending on your loads (pumps, lights, fans, stereo) and wire accordingly. Generally speaking, #10 wire is big enough to go from the battery to the fuse block. You may have momentary surges that approach the limit from things like a tongue jack, but these are very short duration. I dare say #12 is big enough (with a 25 amp fuse), but the safety Nazis will poo-poo that, so I use either #10 or #8, whatever's handy.