Old 12-02-2009, 07:37 PM   #1

1969 27' Overlander
Hernando , Florida
Univolt buzzes then stops

I am brand new to Airstream having just purchased a 1969 overlander in great shape for its age.
THe problem is the Univolt, when plugged into shore power, it buzz's for about 5 to 7 seconds then you hear a boing''''' like a cartoon spring. it seems to recycle, buzz then boing'''' again. This goes on until I unplug the unit.
When we first brought it home it seemed to work fine after I put the battery in. The next day this buzz/boing''' started.

YOur help is greatly apprecaited

Old 12-02-2009, 07:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 30' Classic
Currently Looking...
Hinckley , Ohio
That sounds like a circuit breaker popping. Better start checking for a short. Battery reversed? Something touching metal?

Old 12-02-2009, 07:57 PM   #3

1969 27' Overlander
Hernando , Florida
The noise all comes from the univolt. THe unit is on the left side in an outside compartment and the 4 circuit breaker panel is on the right side in the bathroom. I have checked the breakers and none are popped.
Old 12-02-2009, 10:14 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeMahippah View Post
I am brand new to Airstream having just purchased a 1969 overlander in great shape for its age.
THe problem is the Univolt, when plugged into shore power, it buzz's for about 5 to 7 seconds then you hear a boing''''' like a cartoon spring. it seems to recycle, buzz then boing'''' again. This goes on until I unplug the unit.
When we first brought it home it seemed to work fine after I put the battery in. The next day this buzz/boing''' started.

YOur help is greatly apprecaited
There is built in breaker within the univolt.

Disconnect 1/2 of the circuits, and see what happens.

If the "boing" continues, then reconnect the disconnected circuit, and disconnect the other circuits.

If the "boing" still continues, disconnect all the circuits and see what happens.