Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2016, 11:13 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

 
1964 24' Tradewind
Lawrence , Kansas
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 201
Two Prong Outlet and Voltage Monitor

Will a voltage monitor with a ground fault warning work if I change out a two prong ground outlet with a three prong outlet and ground it to the frame like the two prong outlet? I have not been able to find a two prong monitor with ground fault warning.
__________________

__________________
ttbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 10:10 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
sgschwend's Avatar
 
1986 25' Sovereign
2008 F350, 6.4L diesel , Oak Harbor, WA
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 436
Images: 11
It sounds like you want to install a ground fault circuit interrupter the outlet?
Or were you wishing to use a device that plugs into a grounded outlet to show that the ground, power and neutral are wired properly?

If it is either of the two above cases, then electrically using the trailer frame/skin for the "safety ground" will work as long as the frame/skin is grounded at the panel. There may be undesirable side effects, such as electrolysis corrosion.
__________________

__________________
sgschwend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 07:37 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

 
1964 24' Tradewind
Lawrence , Kansas
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgschwend View Post
It sounds like you want to install a ground fault circuit interrupter the outlet?
Or were you wishing to use a device that plugs into a grounded outlet to show that the ground, power and neutral are wired properly?

If it is either of the two above cases, then electrically using the trailer frame/skin for the "safety ground" will work as long as the frame/skin is grounded at the panel. There may be undesirable side effects, such as electrolysis corrosion.
I want to use a voltage monitor that has a ground fault indicator in my 64 airstream which has two prong outlets. These types of monitoring systems are 3 pronged. I would keep this plunged into the outlet to monitor voltage while on shore power. I can replace the 2 prong outlet with a 3 prong outlet. I believe it is grounded at the panel. Of course I could change the outlet and see if it shows a ground fault (like it would if I would just use a 2 pronged adapter) but hate to mess with old wiring. Especially if it' is in tight spot and if is not going to work.
__________________
ttbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 02:34 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2015 30' Classic
Pleasanton , California
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 616
Why don't you use your three-prong monitor to confirm that there are no faults at the exterior outlet and then connect your trailer? In most cases a fault in a shore power outlet would already be present, so checking the exterior outlet before connecting your trailer makes sense. Rarely would you find a shore power fault occur after connecting to shore power - with the exception of high and low voltage surges.
__________________
Al, K6IV
2015 30' Classic, "Chez Nu"
2014 RAM 2500 w/Cummins Diesel
ProPride Hitch, 400 W Solar
alano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 10:35 AM   #5
3 Rivet Member

 
1964 24' Tradewind
Lawrence , Kansas
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by alano View Post
Why don't you use your three-prong monitor to confirm that there are no faults at the exterior outlet and then connect your trailer? In most cases a fault in a shore power outlet would already be present, so checking the exterior outlet before connecting your trailer makes sense. Rarely would you find a shore power fault occur after connecting to shore power - with the exception of high and low voltage surges.
Thanks for the help every one. I think I will change out a plug and see. I am thinking of changing all the plugs any way just I can stop carrying adapters.

It is probably me being paranoid but I worry about an old trailers grounding system failing. I do check the shore power before hooking up. I do currently use a two pronged voltage meter. I bought a new monitor that has a audio warnings system with ground vault and polarizations warnings which I like but did not think about it being 3 pronged at purchase.
__________________
ttbikes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vintage Porch Light - outlet voltage, etc. bredlo Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 12 03-22-2016 10:22 AM
Vintage trailer with two prong outlets BambiTex Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 6 03-11-2015 03:08 PM
Bargman #99 Tailight refit 6-prong to 7-prong silverkeeper 1960 Safari 6 03-05-2011 11:01 AM
Original 2 prong cord, how do I make it safe? Jabba Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 21 07-12-2010 03:01 PM
3-prong plug converter to fit in regular outlet codybear Off Topic Forum 13 08-21-2006 10:00 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.