Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2007, 12:46 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
Shore Power Again

Okay I have searched but don't see the exact answer I need or maybe I missread.
In the rear of my garage is a single 220 volt receptical that is wired on its own circut from the breaker box. If reading other posts correctly, is it okay to buy a 30 amp breaker to replace the one used for the 220 volt. Then replace the 220 volt receptical with a 30 amp receptical? From reading other posts it (30 amp) needs to be on its own circut.
thanks in advance for infomation.
James
__________________

__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 12:51 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
wkerfoot's Avatar
 
1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flintstones
Okay I have searched but don't see the exact answer I need or maybe I missread.
In the rear of my garage is a single 220 volt receptical that is wired on its own circut from the breaker box. If reading other posts correctly, is it okay to buy a 30 amp breaker to replace the one used for the 220 volt. Then replace the 220 volt receptical with a 30 amp receptical? From reading other posts it (30 amp) needs to be on its own circut.
thanks in advance for infomation.
James
James,

If you are not using that outlet for anything else, you can change it from 220V to 110V. But, unless you are absolutely sure of what you are doing and comfortable working inside the main breaker box, call an electrician.

Bill
__________________

__________________
Bill Kerfoot, WBCCI/VAC/CAC/El Camino Real Unit #5223
Just my personal opinion
1973 Dodge W200 PowerWagon, 1977 Lincoln Continental, 2014 Dodge Durango
1979 23' Safari, and 1954 29' Double Door Liner Orange, CA

http://billbethsblog.blogspot.com/
wkerfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 01:14 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
I am comfortable enough to change out the breaker and receptical.
So is that the answer to my question???? Since it is a dedicated circut I just change those out?
thanks
James
__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 01:20 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Tom Nugler's Avatar

 
1972 25' Tradewind
Currently Looking...
McHenry County , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,129
Images: 5
I have a 220 V. outlet to run an air compresser in the back of my garage as well. I branched off one leg of the circuit and wired a RV outlet and box at the front of the garage. No problems in almost 8 years.
With the GT living just outside the door I've got lights, heat and A/C whenever I need it. I wasn't worried about the breaker in the house as the coach is protected by it's own breakers.
During the Holidays the lights and timer all connect to the outlet which has eliminated a big headache with the rats-nest of cords.
Go for it. Even if you have to run conduit like I did it was an easy job and has made life much easier working on the old girl.
Now, if I can just run a pipe out to the septic......

Tom.
__________________
AirForums # 2806
WBCCI / VAC # 6411
TAC IL-11

Not All Who Wander Are Lost.

Avid supporter of trailing edge technology.
Tom Nugler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 01:22 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
wkerfoot's Avatar
 
1979 23' Safari
1954 29' Liner
Orange , California
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flintstones
I am comfortable enough to change out the breaker and receptical.
So is that the answer to my question???? Since it is a dedicated circut I just change those out?
thanks
James
Yep,

Bill
__________________
Bill Kerfoot, WBCCI/VAC/CAC/El Camino Real Unit #5223
Just my personal opinion
1973 Dodge W200 PowerWagon, 1977 Lincoln Continental, 2014 Dodge Durango
1979 23' Safari, and 1954 29' Double Door Liner Orange, CA

http://billbethsblog.blogspot.com/
wkerfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 01:54 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Silverhobby's Avatar
 
1967 26' Overlander
1968 30' Sovereign
Vintage Kin Owner
Currently Looking...
Mosheim , Tennessee
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,301
Send a message via Yahoo to Silverhobby
To be 100% sure.... Some systems in an AS trailer are 120 volts alternating current. There is nothing on the trailer that is 220 volt current.
__________________
Kevin with Baity the Lab/Pointer
//------AIR # 7303------\\
WBCCI 17109
visit my restoration blog at:
Silverhobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 02:34 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
silverleeper's Avatar
 
1967 22' Safari
1960 Caravel
Edmonds , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,499
Images: 8
Yes!

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flintstones
Okay I have searched but don't see the exact answer I need or maybe I missread.
In the rear of my garage is a single 220 volt receptical that is wired on its own circut from the breaker box. If reading other posts correctly, is it okay to buy a 30 amp breaker to replace the one used for the 220 volt. Then replace the 220 volt receptical with a 30 amp receptical? From reading other posts it (30 amp) needs to be on its own circut.
thanks in advance for infomation.
James
Hi James, You can do that. You can use the same wire as long as you don't connect one leg. Read this here it sounds like what you what to do. Becareful 220v will kill you.
__________________
Lee

1973 F-250 4X4 390
1965 Chevy Suburban 454
AIR 6030
WBCCI 4258
TCT

silverleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 03:54 PM   #8
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
James,
the dedicated 220V is all wrong for you trailer. 220V will fry everything. It needs to be 110V dedicated 30 amp.
A 220V dryer outlet and a RV outlet look a lot alike. They are not.
If you take the 220 which is two hots and a ground and hook it up as one hot and two grounds then you will have 110.
Of Course the breaker will have to changed.
You will have to consult the documentation on which blade is hot.
If you have any problems with any of this hire an electrician.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 08:46 PM   #9
Retired Moderator
 
john hd's Avatar
 
1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,644
Images: 40
there is more involved than the breaker and the outlet assuming you can wire it properly.

the wire needs to be the correct size, 240 volt circuits can have smaller wire due to the higher voltage and lower current.

plug your distance and 30 amps into this caclulator and compare to what you have for wire. then go ahead with your project.

Voltage Drop Calculator JavaScript

john
__________________
you call them ferrets, i call them weasels.
john hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 09:36 PM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
The Flintstones's Avatar
 
1970 27' Overlander
Houston , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 272
thanks for all the input. I am going to contact a neighbor friend as he is a certified electrician. I shut down the main power and removed the cover to expose breakers and got in there and thought to myself that safe is better than sorry. Thanks again for all the information.
James
__________________
____________
1970 Overlander
The Flintstones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 09:43 PM   #11
INSANITY CENTRAL
 
doorgunner's Avatar
 
1986 32' Excella
2014 Interstate Ext. Coach
Citrus Heights , California
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,105
Images: 35
Be careful!!! one of those hot legs may be a "stinger"!! I think that depends on some sort of line connection.
You have input on this john hd?
__________________


www.popasmoke.com




Proud Appellation American





Vine View Heights is now closed.

YETI ( 65 Quart )

IGLOO (Ice Cube, 50 Quart )
doorgunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 09:53 PM   #12
Retired Moderator
 
john hd's Avatar
 
1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,644
Images: 40
i think james has the situation well in hand if he has a certified electrician.

james,

make sure you tell your electrician friend that your trailer is 120 volt ONLY!

no matter what he thinks the plug looks like! there are more than a few members here that have had an "electrician" wreck their trailer electronics by mistakenly connecting it to a 240 volt circuit! even with the correct outlet!

john
__________________
you call them ferrets, i call them weasels.
john hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 10:42 PM   #13
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by john hd
there is more involved than the breaker and the outlet assuming you can wire it properly.

the wire needs to be the correct size, 240 volt circuits can have smaller wire due to the higher voltage and lower current.

john
That's pretty interesting. If you plug in 60 ft of wire and 30 amps, it calculates #8 wire for 120 VAC, and #12 wire for 240 VAC.

I had no idea there was that much difference.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 08:18 PM   #14
Retired Moderator
 
john hd's Avatar
 
1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,644
Images: 40
twice the voltage half the amps, that's why they call it a law!

john
__________________

__________________
you call them ferrets, i call them weasels.
john hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 and 30 amp shore power tinbender Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 15 06-22-2007 11:33 PM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 09:23 AM
Shore power sockets niftypkg Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 02-26-2007 07:35 AM
Shore power cord FreshAir Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 18 02-21-2007 03:41 PM
Power w/o batt. just shore... crazylev On The Road... 8 11-12-2004 05:14 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.