Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2008, 08:45 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
pintoman's Avatar
 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Greensburg , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 168
Images: 7
Removing fuse panel from Univolt

I'm planning on replacing the Univolt in a 1971 overlander. I would like to keep the fuse panel that is part of of the Univolt can someone tell me the best way to do this. Any photos would be great. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
pintoman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2008, 10:57 PM   #2
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
It's not difficult. You need to make sure the 120 volt is unhooked (duh), and either mark the wire locations or take a photo of the panel before disassembly.
There are a couple of wires that won't go back on the panel, as they will no longer do anything. One is the wire for the power on indicator light, the other two are for the amp gauge.
You could probably hook the leads back up for the amp gauge, but way back in the olden days of yore we had issues of cars catching fire because the amp gauge shorted out. I make it a point not to hook the amp gauge up, or disconnect it, for this reason.
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 01:24 AM   #3
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim
 
Safari Tim's Avatar
 
1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,921
Images: 35
I used a new fuse panel and reused the ground shut to keep the ammeter working on my '71.





You can see the full story here.
__________________
-Tim
1960 International Ambassador 28'
2001 Silverado 2500HD CC 6.0L 4.10
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 08:41 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
I still have the original Univolt in my 71 which for the most part seems to work fine. But I do have 2 related questions:
1. On my last trip there was a loud fan type noise that statrted and went away after a couple of minutes. Cooling fan gettting ready to die?
2, My ammeter does not work, what should I check?
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 10:35 AM   #5
a.k.a. Ambassador Tim
 
Safari Tim's Avatar
 
1960 28' Ambassador
Northern , California
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,921
Images: 35
Are you sure you still have the original univolt?

Modern day converters have fans that only come one when needed.

If you do have a newer converter that is why your ammeter would not work as it most likely would not have been wired back in.
__________________
-Tim
1960 International Ambassador 28'
2001 Silverado 2500HD CC 6.0L 4.10
Check out my book: Restoring a Dream
Check out my Airstream book for kids!: Airstream Adventures
theVAP - Airstream Podcast
Safari Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 03:47 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
maccamper's Avatar

 
1974 29' Ambassador
1966 20' Globetrotter
Central , Illinois
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 664
Images: 4
techi-look fuse panel

Soon after we acquired our '74 last year, I had the unfortunate opportunity to change a fuse in the old Univolt. Ours was under a shelf that was part of the tub unit, and was accessed through a small opening in the wall of the closet behind the tub.

I learned two things:
1) it was very hard to see which fuse was blown
2) my contortionist days were well behind me

This experience established the two main criteria for the new fuse panel when I decided to replace the Univolt with a solid state inverter. I wanted to easily see which fuse was blown, and I wanted to be able to get to it. I located the new inverter and panel on the floor and wall of the previously mentioned closet (behind the tub), which also helps with air circulation for the inverter.

The only thing I bought for the panel was a small piece of Lexan, which I cut into two pieces, one for the top and one for the face of the new box. The box has a plywood back and two sides, I used two plastic "z" channels to attach the fuse board. There are two "c" channels on the side to support the face piece of Lexan, which just drops into the channels.

The new box may look too "techie" for some tastes with the clear Lexan face and top, but it is tucked away in the closet and meets my two criteria. It was also inexpensive. I hope the picture is helpful, please let me know if you have any questions.

Laird
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	new inteli-power and dc fuse box (2).JPG
Views:	470
Size:	193.4 KB
ID:	60201   Click image for larger version

Name:	new fuse box.jpg
Views:	333
Size:	130.0 KB
ID:	60202  

__________________
maccamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 08:59 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Safari Tim
Are you sure you still have the original univolt?

Modern day converters have fans that only come one when needed.

If you do have a newer converter that is why your ammeter would not work as it most likely would not have been wired back in.
I don't know this is the original univolt but it is a univolt. In addition to the commonly available 20 amp glass fuses it has 2 40 amp fuses that you just can't find. The noise I was talking about above was a fairly loud vibration noise, not to be confused with the ordinary hum. I sounded like a fan with bad bearings but I don't know for sure it was a fan. This noise only happened once and no problems since.
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 01:31 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Wabbiteer's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
1972 29' Ambassador
St. Paul , Minnesota
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,912
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 2
The old converter yields well to a highspeed cut-off tool abrasive disc...

Have not found a cheap alternative yet so this may actually get reinstalled.

__________________

__________________

Wabbiteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Third wire on the fuse panel help flashbackk Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 9 05-01-2008 09:27 PM
fuse panel question BigSky Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 02-26-2007 08:45 PM
Where is my 12volt fuse panel??? Blu_Hwy_Lady Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 07-02-2006 01:37 PM
Fuse panel bluebonnet Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 7 08-15-2004 11:42 AM
12v fuse panel location? coldduc All Argosy Trailers 5 05-26-2004 07:15 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.