Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-16-2014, 02:58 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky
No power to inverter

2006 Safari 23'

My WF-600T inverter had a couple of blown fuses so I removed it, replaced the fuses and now I don't have any 12v input to the inverter. When I removed the positive cable it touched the chassis ground wire and sparked.

I thought it went straight through to the batteries but there must be another fuse or breaker somewhere. I'm a newbie so not sure where to look. The 12v lines go into the wall, just behind the battery box.

Thanks
Rich
Rich W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 05:27 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
I'm In , Kentucky
I found a nest of wires, a bus, what looks like some kind of relay, etc. in the left front. There is an access panel under the couch with very limited room. I can see the inverter wires but it's such a tangle that I can't find a fuse or breaker.

If I could get the box that's just under the window, removed, I could have easy access. I 've taken out the screws on the top (4) and the arm that's on the right (2) but I don't see anything else to remove, yet that section won't come out. There is a box that's part of this configuration but there's no fasteners inside of it.

I feel so stupid for touching that wire, a rookie mistake. I should know better. I was so happy that I found those fuses inside the inverter then got careless and touched that hot wire. I'd give anything for that minute of my life to live over again.

Any help would be appreciated. It would be of benefit to know what I'm looking for; bayonet fuse, in-line fuse, breaker... how to take the couch off.... anything.

Thanks,
Rich
Old 02-16-2014, 05:40 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1969 31' Sovereign
Broken Arrow , Oklahoma
You say no 12V to the inverter or is it no 120V out of the inverter.