Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-18-2005, 05:09 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

No interior lights

I recently purchased my first Airstream, a 1971 18' Caravel, and I am brand new to travel trailers in general. I charged the battery and installed it but I still have no interior lights, what am I missing? Another note, the battery sparked a bit when I hooked it up so even with the breakers switched off it seems there is a draw from something. But nothing works. I am no electrcian, any helpful suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.
java71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2005, 05:58 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

p.s. - All of the fuses appear to be intact. I blew one 40 amp when messing with the battery but replaced it and the rest seem okay.
Old 06-18-2005, 06:08 PM   #3
Rivet Master

Corpus Christi , Texas
I'm not sure if it was required in the 70's, but today, it is required to have a circuit breaker located along the hot lead from the battery to the 12v panel. You may have tripped this circuit breaker. On my previous SOB, that circuit breaker was hidden under the bed!
Old 06-18-2005, 06:13 PM   #4
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
hooked up backwards?

Are you sure you hooked up the + and - terminals to the correct posts on the battery?
There is a 50 amp fuse to ground also on these trailers, you may have blown that one, or it could just be one of the main fuses having a bad connection, try gently moving them around a bit in their holders.
Do you still have the Univolt or other charging device installed? If it is still a Univolt, you can plug the trailer into 120 volts and listen for a humming noise.
If it is not in the system anymore, you most likely won't have lights, either, since everything in that year went through the fuse panel in the Univolt.
Old 06-18-2005, 07:47 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member